Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

BBC News Updated every minute of every day



Have Your Say

Send us your feedback

New visitors:  Create your membership
Returning members:  Sign in
This debate is now closed.

Has Pope Benedict’s visit to the Middle East had a positive effect?

Pope Benedict XVI has finished his eight-day pilgrimage to the Middle East, calling for an end to fighting between Israel and the Palestinians. Has his visit been successful?

At a farewell ceremony, attended by Israeli leaders, he called for "no more bloodshed, no more fighting".

He said the Holocaust "must never be forgotten or denied".

Israeli President Shimon Peres thanked him for his visit, calling it a "profound demonstration of the enduring dialogue" between Christians and Jews.

He reiterated the call for a two-state solution, as Israel had the right to exist, and the Palestinians "have a right to a sovereign independent homeland".

Has the papal visit helped promote peace in the region?

Read the full story

Send your pictures of the Pope's visit to yourpics@bbc.co.uk, text them to 61124 or if you have a large file you can upload here.

Read the terms and conditions

At no time should you endanger yourself or others, take any unnecessary risks or infringe any laws.

Published: Friday, 8 May, 2009, 11:22 GMT 12:22 UK

All comments as they come in

Added: Saturday, 16 May, 2009, 02:45 GMT 03:45 UK

Rome Doesn't fail what ever it undertake succeed; but one, the war that has been a thorn in the eye of roman catholicity is destruction of protestantism. Looking back, the destruction ussr's communism was their most cunning achievement because at the onset they created it and Destroyed(Regan and previous pope Jean Paul II).
This trip was very significant because, Rome has always had their eyes one Palestine. read father maIlachi Martin comment on the real agenda of ROME Of world domination.

shadrack St-Leger, Montreal

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Saturday, 16 May, 2009, 02:14 GMT 03:14 UK

This is a pope that wants to beautify Pope Pius. His support for the nazis can be proven, but his support for the Ustasi was clear. The Croation Ustasi had a goal of a purely Roman Catholic state that used extermination, expulsion and forced conversion of Jews and Serbian Orthodox to obtain their goals.

The Roman Catholic Church has a lot to apologize for. Their involvement in Israel is definitely suspect. This man is acting as a false prophet and should not be trusted. Let us all pray.

Christopher, Whitby, Canada

Recommended by 2 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Saturday, 16 May, 2009, 02:09 GMT 03:09 UK

Well, I feel that success is a relative term.It is too early to tell in my opinion and besides, I am not aware of any stated goals that he was surpose to meet rather than going on a pilgrimage or site seeing.

AlieB Bombolai, Philadelphia, United States

Recommended by 2 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Saturday, 16 May, 2009, 01:48 GMT 02:48 UK

The Pope's job is not take sides, his message have been full of peace and comprehension. Brazil is the bigger catholic country in the world, where Arabs, Iraelis, Palestinians, Protestants, people of all races and places live together and help each other, could be taken as a model of pacific cohexistence.
Marcos de Jesus Tavares Brazil

You obviously did not listen to the Pope's speech when he came to Brazil and told the Brazilians to come out of Protestant churches. He is divisive.

Christopher, Whitby, Canada

Recommended by 2 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Saturday, 16 May, 2009, 01:48 GMT 02:48 UK

"Just in Germany Jewish population was reduced by 6 million those were slaughtered by Christians."

Shahid Shahid, Chicago, United States


You need to learn what being a Christian is. A Christian is one who lives his/her life by the teachings of Jesus Christ.
No one that is a true Christian would have participated in such genocide! Just because one is not Muslim, Hindu, Jewish, etc, does not mean they are Christian.

Mmmm....I wonder, do you comprehend?? probably not!

Scott, USA

Recommended by 1 person

Alert a Moderator

Added: Saturday, 16 May, 2009, 01:14 GMT 02:14 UK

Pope's visit is astoundingly successful.
Its upto the parties to choose the path of reality or discomfort.
Both the Palestinian's and Israeli's has to come forward into the negotiating table and make understandings & sacrifices in order to achieve permanent and lasting solution of the crisis.
The birth place of the worlds three major religions and the prophecies has equal rights and one has to honor & respect the others values.
Uniqueness in a faith cannot be claimed, it is morally justified

Mohammed Hossain., Mississauga, Canada

Recommended by 1 person

Alert a Moderator

Added: Saturday, 16 May, 2009, 01:02 GMT 02:02 UK

The Pope is stating to Israel in diplomatic terms "You've exhausted all credits of sympathy over the holocaust, and now it's time to Abide by the Rules of Civilisation like Everyone Else".

Flinkus, Streatham

Like everyone else? Islamic countries abide by these rules?
Can we include slavery, colonialization, past racism and the crusades in that list of "exhausted all sympathy for"? Look at some comments on HYS- some people haven't gotten over the Inquisition or Crusades!

jane doe

Recommended by 4 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Saturday, 16 May, 2009, 01:01 GMT 02:01 UK

I don t believe that a Hitler youth member- albeit decades ago- can really be taken seriously in the are Holy land. Unfortunately the church of Rome have had a past history of being anti semitic.

Gus, Edinburgh

Recommended by 2 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Saturday, 16 May, 2009, 24:57 GMT 01:57 UK

The Pope did not speak about his organiztion's crusades against Muslims...... And let’s not forget the 30-year war in Europe or the Spanish Inquisition, and the list goes on. I'm sure this history is not lost on people in the Middle East

Alan Kassien, Sturgeon Bay, United States

Some people are still angry about the Inquisition and Crusades.... yet when Jews have emotioncal baggage over the Holocaust they are considered playing the "victim card"?! Timeline of events, please!

jane doe

Recommended by 4 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Saturday, 16 May, 2009, 24:53 GMT 01:53 UK

The Pope's job is not take sides, his message have been full of peace and comprehension. All of us catholic or not suffer with the problems between Israelis and Palestinians. Brazil is the bigger catholic country in the world, where Arabs, Iraelis, Palestinians, Protestants, people of all races and places live together and help each other, could be taken as a model of pacific cohexistence. And the rest of the world call us third world.

Marcos de Jesus Tavares, Rio de Janeiro - Brazil

Recommended by 1 person

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 15 May, 2009, 23:18 GMT 00:18 UK

The Pope's the Pope, he's not God, he is but God's representative on earth following on from the first Pope, Peter. Benedict XV1 can't work miracles, that's God's given. In every Pope's reign there have been wars, but they're man made not God made, for the simple reason God gave us the gift of free will. If man uses that gift doing wrong that's not the fault of God or the Pope, but those exercising that gift, for their own selfish ends. So let's not keep playing the blame Pope & God game!

v.gerrard, Dublin

Recommended by 2 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 15 May, 2009, 22:55 GMT 23:55 UK

Was Pope Pius 12 successful in saving the Catholic Church from the Nazis? Was it his duty to do so even at the expense of the Jews? Now was Benedict 16 sucessful in saving the Church from Islam & Zionism at the expense of whom? We don't know the outcome yet for either Pope. Should Pius 12 be Connonized? Anyone dealing in the ME cannot expect anything until Netenyhu comes to DC & tells the US Congress what to do. Then we will all judge if Benedict's trip was sucessful or if he was just humored.

Mary Gravitt, Iowa City, Iowa, United States

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 15 May, 2009, 22:36 GMT 23:36 UK

"Isn't it odd Jews run the show today like they ran it Jesus Christ days; only their allies are different today (the Americans) from the Romans in those days" - Nizam Yagoub

Isn't it odd how people still believe the anti-semitic "Jews run the world myth" which has been going on since the Middle Ages? What's your source? The Protocols of the Elders of Zion?

[Martin1983], London, United Kingdom

Recommended by 5 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 15 May, 2009, 22:02 GMT 23:02 UK

"Don't know about Israel but the IDF certainly didn't want independant witnesses in Jenin or Gaza." - Absinthe M

So, would this be the same Jenin where the Palestinians claimed 3000 people were killed, which was quoted by the press? Then it later transpired that the death count was closer to 50. And at least half of those were combatants. The press were slow to make this correction. There are no independents in that area. There's always a bias towards one side or the other.

[Martin1983], London, United Kingdom

Recommended by 5 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 15 May, 2009, 21:52 GMT 22:52 UK

was he able to take a Bible in to Jerusalem old city? If he was then his trip has been successful because when I was there no one was allowed to take a Bible into Jerusalem old city. You could take a koran but NO Bibles. Of course BBS will not publish this becasue they are anti christian and are happy about this.

sandra, ISA

Recommended by 3 people

Alert a Moderator

This Have Your Say is 
CLOSED

DEBATE STATUS

Total comments:
2560
Published comments:
1925
Rejected comments:
607
No further comments will be published as debate is now closed

MOST POPULAR NOW

From Have Your Say

PRODUCTS AND SERVICES

bbc sport Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific