Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

BBC News Updated every minute of every day



Have Your Say

Send us your feedback

New visitors:  Create your membership
Returning members:  Sign in
This debate is now closed.

Can politicians recover from the expenses row?

The Commons Speaker will convene an urgent meeting of party leaders later to discuss reforming MPs' expenses, as he battles to hold onto his position. Has politics been permanently damaged?

Michael Martin has been fiercely criticised by some MPs and faces calls to quit over his handling of the row.

He told MPs on Monday he was "profoundly sorry" for his role.

Meanwhile, Labour's ruling National Executive Committee will meet to discuss what should be done about any Labour MPs who have broken the rules.

Have you lost faith in politicians? How can MPs regain your trust? Is it enough to pay back the money claimed on expenses? Have these revelations put you off voting?

Read the full story

MPs' expenses in detail

See your previous comments

See your video comments

Published: Tuesday, 12 May, 2009, 10:29 GMT 11:29 UK

All comments as they come in

Added: Tuesday, 19 May, 2009, 14:05 GMT 15:05 UK

Westminister should be domolished and everything about it forgotten!
Its a house of ill repute!
Settling for a modified version is only delaying the inevitable!

That would be Telling, Lancaster, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Tuesday, 19 May, 2009, 14:04 GMT 15:04 UK

"he inherited the current system, and all he did was to uphold the normal practice of what MP's have been doing for years as it was or should i say the norm, so who was he to try and make massive changes in a well established system?.

Mr Angry"

He wanted the police put on the leak, not the problems to be adressed. He fought tooth and nail to keep this quiet. He wasn't just going along with it, he was ensuring its' continued survival.

Mark, Exeter

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Tuesday, 19 May, 2009, 14:02 GMT 15:02 UK

How much body armour for our troops could be bought for what it costs to clear out a moat on a second home?

How much cancer treatment could have been given out for extensions on constituency residences?

That is the questions we shouldbe asking these cheating, lying abstracted, ignorant idiots.

[puffinsnotreal]

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Tuesday, 19 May, 2009, 14:02 GMT 15:02 UK

How about this:MPs pay for their constituency homes out of their own pocket.If their constituency isn't in London, they may stay at a special guest house/bed&breakfast-style place reserved for MPs (and guests?), staying in which is paid expenses-style, for when they are attending a parliamentary meeting. Eating, drinking or staying anywhere else comes out of their own pocket. Each room is furnished identically(eg ensuite); anything they might want to add for comforts is from their own pocket.

[TheJimtasticOne], Cardiff, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Tuesday, 19 May, 2009, 13:59 GMT 14:59 UK

I am not sure how they can recover when the local labour party in Luton refused to deselect Margaret Moran. Her claim for a family home outside her constituency was fraudulent. The refusal of her local party demonstrates that the voice of the people is still not being heard.

I hope the police start an investigation into this abuse, amongst several other obvious cases.

Haj Muntz, Reading

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Tuesday, 19 May, 2009, 13:59 GMT 14:59 UK

They never had my trust in the first place! all too busy looking after themselves.

Russ, Reading

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Tuesday, 19 May, 2009, 13:56 GMT 14:56 UK

Why can't we as tax payers purchase a large block of appartments near to westminster where MP's can stay rent free while at work in London. If they are working at a second job while using the said appartment then they pay a portion of the rent or their other employer should pay. We tax payers then own the building. They can walk to work or use one of the fleet cars if necessary. 'As The Rest Of Us Do'. They are not Gods. Just liers and cheats in my opinion, deserving only our contempt.

Mrs Hannah Frye, Weston-super-Mare

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Tuesday, 19 May, 2009, 13:51 GMT 14:51 UK

All I can say is that the person who leaked all this to the Telegraph has now changed British Politics forever, he or she deserves a medal regardless of doing it for money it was in our interest good luck to that person!

Dita Manson, London, UK

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Tuesday, 19 May, 2009, 13:38 GMT 14:38 UK

MPs should just have a normal salary, and no more. If they can't cope, tough; budgeting is a good life skill, and if they can't budget properly they can hardly be trusted to run the country.

[TheJimtasticOne], Cardiff, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Tuesday, 19 May, 2009, 13:38 GMT 14:38 UK

I am appalled that the police are not going to bring to task any MP's who have claimed expenses fraudulently !! I wonder what would happen if I carried on claiming benefit after I had started a new job!!!! Would the the court let me off if I said sorry, I didn't realise it was going into my bank account. I also think it is disgusting that the speaker should resign. He is being made a scape goat to take the heat off the MP's. We should chuck the whole lot out and start again.

Andrea Parker, Sheffield

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Tuesday, 19 May, 2009, 13:37 GMT 14:37 UK

I have no trust in politicians.

Politicans should not lie, cheat, scam, or try to control every aspect of their employers lives.
They are very hard to get rid of too.
I will vote for one of the fringe parties or an independant.
At least it will be a change from the current shower.

Patsy Mairs, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Tuesday, 19 May, 2009, 13:35 GMT 14:35 UK

You mean to tell me that others wouldn't have done the same in their situation? Ha! Get real! [mlu032], Manchester

"Others" might have done the same, but these others shouldn't be in parliament either. Those positions should be reserved for decent, responsible people who wouldn't dream of doing such a thing.

I'm not angry because I didn't get to steal, I'm angry because I struggle to make ends meet each month paying taxes for those thieves to spend on tampons and having their moats cleaned

Gina G, Surrey, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Tuesday, 19 May, 2009, 13:29 GMT 14:29 UK

The (relatively) swift action over the last week with apologies and repayments represents a welcome and positive step, but it is NOT enough. No apologies or repayments would have been forthcoming without the MPs being rumbled. The Met Police must investigate. I hope they do not shy away from this responsibility for fear of upsetting the wrong people. Some of the "mistakes" of the last week are not just inflated mileage claims. They are nothing short of fraudulent.

John Beasley

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Tuesday, 19 May, 2009, 13:14 GMT 14:14 UK

Trust has gone, but a general election would be disastrous. The turnout for a General Election is usually low due to the apathy of the people in this country who would rather watch telly than vote. What kind of turnout would there be when no one trusts any of the candidates? Vote 'non of the above' is not an option! Those who are members of a Party and have their own political agenda would turn out leaving seats potentially open to the likes of the BNP and their politics of division & hatred.

Michele, Stratford upon Avon

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Tuesday, 19 May, 2009, 13:12 GMT 14:12 UK

Yes they can,this is trail by media. But they have to standup and fight. They need to fight as if the Nazis where standing in the way. So far only Shahid Malik's & Clair Short have shown any balls. Shahid Malik's constituency party even spoke up for him and giving him a grilling. The PM's must not allow themselves to be pushed around. If so, then we go back to time when only rich could survive as a MP. It is no suprise that many MP's come from the legal profession, pupilage no salary for 1yr.

Everton Elliott, Harrow, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

This Have Your Say is 
CLOSED

DEBATE STATUS

Total comments:
16446
Published comments:
14659
Rejected comments:
1787
No further comments will be published as debate is now closed

MOST POPULAR NOW

From Have Your Say

PRODUCTS AND SERVICES

bbc sport Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific