Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

BBC News Updated every minute of every day



Have Your Say

Send us your feedback

New visitors:  Create your membership
Returning members:  Sign in
This debate is now closed.

Where is your favourite beach?

The number of UK beaches recommended for bathing in has fallen by almost a sixth because of last year’s poor weather, the Marine Conservation Society (MCS) says. Where is your favourite beach?

In its Good Beach Guide the MCS recommends 370 beaches out of 777 tested – a drop of 74 since 2008.

This is the biggest fall in the guide’s 22-year history and the first time since 2002 that less than half of British beaches were said to be good for bathing.

The MCS said heavy rain and severe storms in 2008 had swept pollutants like raw sewage into rivers and seas.

Will this deter you from going to a beach in the UK? How do British beaches compare to those in other countries? Will you be visiting a British beach this Bank Holiday weekend? What is your local beach like? Where is your least favourite beach?

Send your pictures of your favourite beach to yourpics@bbc.co.uk or text them to +44 7725 100 100. If you have a large file you can upload here.
Read the terms and conditions

At no time should you endanger yourself or others, take any unnecessary risks or infringe any laws.

Your favourite beach photos

Read the full story

Send us your story ideas

Published: Friday, 22 May, 2009, 10:18 GMT 11:18 UK

All comments as they come in

Added: Monday, 25 May, 2009, 20:42 GMT 21:42 UK

My favourite beach is SEABURN in Sunderland, Tyne & Wear, England!!

Terence Gaffney, Sunderland

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Monday, 25 May, 2009, 20:39 GMT 21:39 UK

yes i have a favourite beach,its long and wide ,with beautiful sand,not shingle.and its quite quiet.and thats the way id like it to stay,so i'm not tellin' you lot where it is

stu nobody, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Monday, 25 May, 2009, 19:50 GMT 20:50 UK

not anything on the north west coast of england, scotland or the east coast of ireland as it has very high levels of plutonium and iodine 123 and iodine 131 from sellafield

Mr Wideboy

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Monday, 25 May, 2009, 19:36 GMT 20:36 UK

Having emigrated a couple of years ago it has to be the small beach on Viggsjon in Sweden, a few hundred metres from my home. It is a safe, quiet (mostly) beach in the summer and has the benefit of hosting an improvised skating rink in the winter! - Oh, and it's clean too.... with life rings in place and even a barbecue area... Sorry no UK beaches fit the bill.

[meandmylandy], Sala, Sweden

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Monday, 25 May, 2009, 19:21 GMT 20:21 UK

I bought a plot on my favourite beach which overlooks the Indian Ocean and am going to build my retirement home there.

Where is it?

Sorry.........................

:-)

Sen Sawdd, Agin, Dinna Ken Y Bongo

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Monday, 25 May, 2009, 18:43 GMT 19:43 UK

Puttsborough beach in north devon.

Captain StereoType

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Monday, 25 May, 2009, 18:37 GMT 19:37 UK

I'm not a beach person myself, I get bored too easily. Lying around reading a book has never been my thing.

When I do go it's with the kids, and the best beaches are those with rock pools and sand bars. There's nothing better as a kid searching for creatures among the rocks.

I wonder if this was even a factor in deciding which are the best beaches. My guess is a very adult view was taken

Gordon parker, Durham, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Monday, 25 May, 2009, 18:23 GMT 19:23 UK

Clashnessie Beach near Lochinver, Scotland is my favourite. it is pure, clean and off the beaten path, but please please please don't go there I saw it first and the last thing I want is to see anyone else on it :-)

Mark Flett, Buxton, United Kingdom

Recommended by 1 person

Alert a Moderator

Added: Monday, 25 May, 2009, 17:20 GMT 18:20 UK

QUOTE:The environment's fine, and we're not harming it. Enough of this green nonsense.

Lee

Really? So the ice caps aren't melting, the ozone hole doesn't exist, thousands of species aren't getting closer to extinction. Are you saying that you'd actually be hard pushed to tell that humans lived here?

I'm not saying worrying about it is going to do any good, but humans are definitely damaging the environment.

Adam, London

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Monday, 25 May, 2009, 16:42 GMT 17:42 UK

Bexhill-on-Sea. If you've never been, you've missed a trick!

Marilyn Kendall, Plymouth, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Monday, 25 May, 2009, 15:28 GMT 16:28 UK

Southbourne beach towards Hengistbury Head at Bournemouth....it's sandy, safe, very few tourists go there, and it's five minutes walk from my front door.

[richwhome], Bournemouth

Recommended by 1 person

Alert a Moderator

Added: Monday, 25 May, 2009, 15:15 GMT 16:15 UK

All those British and other European backpackers who were going to travel the world to learn about other cultures (and who are really only interested in booze and STD) seem to wash up on Bondi Beach. I hate the place.Jan, Sydney, Australia

Likewise all the lower end of the scale Aussies who have ruined certain parts of Bali.

Brian, Aberdeen

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Monday, 25 May, 2009, 14:44 GMT 15:44 UK

Anywhere there are no kids!!!! Like that is possible!

AJ Wilson Briggs, Amsterdam (ExUK), Netherlands

Recommended by 2 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Monday, 25 May, 2009, 14:00 GMT 15:00 UK

Not in the UK.

[Fairfolds], St Albans, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Monday, 25 May, 2009, 13:58 GMT 14:58 UK

My favourite beach in the whole wide world is in Pennington on the south coast of Natal in the Republic of SA.

Sand that stretches along kilos of blue shoreline...

Braaivleis, rugby, sunny skies and Chevrolets - man, those were the days!

Christmas in the sun with a few Lions and a lekker beach to enjoy!

What could be better?

Kevin Ritch, NY - a vantage point to see global inequality and at last, begin to share the experience., United States

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

This Have Your Say is 
CLOSED

DEBATE STATUS

Total comments:
629
Published comments:
583
Rejected comments:
44
No further comments will be published as debate is now closed

MOST POPULAR NOW

From Have Your Say

PRODUCTS AND SERVICES

bbc sport Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific