Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

BBC News Updated every minute of every day



Have Your Say

Send us your feedback

New visitors:  Create your membership
Returning members:  Sign in
This debate is now closed.

Are you in a broadband notspot?

As many as three million homes in the UK have broadband speeds of less than two megabits per second (Mbps) according to research commissioned by the BBC. What is your broadband speed like?

In its Digital Britain report, the government will outline plans to provide all homes in the UK with speeds of at least 2Mbps by 2012.

The research revealed that so-called notspots are not limited to rural communities, but some suburban homes are also struggling to get a reasonable broadband connection.

What is broadband connection like in your area? Is the government doing enough to help provide better broadband? Is 2Mbps enough?

Read the full story

Send us your story ideas

Published: Tuesday, 26 May, 2009, 22:35 GMT 23:35 UK

All comments as they come in

Added: Wednesday, 27 May, 2009, 13:19 GMT 14:19 UK

We only live 2 miles from the exchange but our broardband speed is terrible.

Alison, Abridge

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 27 May, 2009, 13:18 GMT 14:18 UK

I was paying for 10mbps but getting only 2 so I cancelled the extra payment and lo and behold they now tell me I will be getting 10 mpbs for the same price as 2! I was growing old waiting for the screens to load!

They must have realised that everyone had cottoned onto the scam - that is that we were all paying the extra and not getting it.

Now I am supposed to be getting 10mpbs all the time but doubt that in busy periods. How can you prove it?

PC Exempt, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 27 May, 2009, 13:18 GMT 14:18 UK

Try explaining the low bit rate then the fair usage policy to our european neighbours. You will be laughed at. Its the best joke around.

James clarke, uk

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 27 May, 2009, 13:17 GMT 14:17 UK

2) BT CANNOT CHANGE THE LAWS OF PHYSICS! Please, please, please understand that broadband ADSL is a technology and not some magical fairy dust technology "that just happens". Physics are involved here and play a huge part in determining connection speed. Quality of copper lines also play a huge part in connection speeds.

3) Like all computer technologies broadband isn't black and white - there is a lot of grey!

j h

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 27 May, 2009, 13:16 GMT 14:16 UK

1) It isn't BTs fault. This is what you get for privatising utilities, making a profit is more important with the result of neglecting the service provided (There is healthy competition in Japan, Korea and Sweden hance decent fast connections). There is no incentive for BT to upgrade to fibre.

j h

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 27 May, 2009, 13:15 GMT 14:15 UK

Yes, it is great that the government wants everybody to have a 2Mbps internet connection. The reality is, that when you have your 2Mbps connection you will be stuck with it for years. We will become more and more dependant on the internet and 2Mbps does not future-proof ourselves. We need major investment to provide a real fast link to every home, not a paltry 2Mbps!

Jimlad, Oxford

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 27 May, 2009, 13:15 GMT 14:15 UK

2Mbps for everyone? Where are we, in the dark ages?! I myself am already receiving an 18Mb connection via ADSL2+. Here's a comparion for people to make, by 2012 the government wants 2Mbps and BT claim 40% of the populace will be able to get 40Mbps via fibre; by 2012 Korea expect to distribute a 1Gbps network throughtout their country!

This country isnt looking to the future its looking at technology 2 generations in the past! Reminds me of our train network, old, slow and obsolete!

[bigo93], Bradford, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 27 May, 2009, 13:10 GMT 14:10 UK

I am 3 miles from an exchange and i get half a meg! this suits me ok as long as I can read my emails and load an internet page I'm happy! I am also with BT and in their defence provide me a better service than some other mobile phone company who I was with and they were terrible!

ruth hart, Essex

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 27 May, 2009, 13:10 GMT 14:10 UK

Giless, you could learn why ADSL broadband is limited by distance from the exchange & other factors, or sit back and watch Britain's Got Talent. Most of these posts are ill-informed whinging.

Jim, Orpington

Most people don't care, they just want to know why the cost doesn't seem to reflect the laws of reality.

Zain

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 27 May, 2009, 13:09 GMT 14:09 UK

What's all the fuss about? When did fast broadband become a life-or-death essential? 2Mb/s is more than enough for normal internet use. The only users who need more than that are businesses (who should pay for it themselves); those downloading large video and music files (ditto); and file-sharers.

In the last group I count the BBC because their iPlayer relies on peer-peer sharing to work as the BBC won't support the more secure method of hosting the files themselves. Hidden agenda, BBC?

Alan, England

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 27 May, 2009, 13:09 GMT 14:09 UK

We used to be with Tiscali and our connection was super fast 8mbps...

TalkTalk bought Tiscali recently and our connection speed has halved!!

C, Coleraine

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 27 May, 2009, 13:08 GMT 14:08 UK

It makes me laugh,they live in the middle of nowwhere and expect a broadband connection. They probably moan that they have to travel a couple of miles to see a doctor.
Perhaps they should move.

john, harlow

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 27 May, 2009, 13:08 GMT 14:08 UK

Reading this HYS it seems that in the UK we have probably the worst broadband service in the developed world.
Another achievement from our wonderful Nulabour government.

Chris Oldershaw, Cenarth, Ceredigion, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 27 May, 2009, 13:07 GMT 14:07 UK

Seems that I am one of the lucky ones! I get a consistant 16Mbits from Virgin only dropping at real peak times to around 12Mbits. Still not the 20Mbits I pay for, but I am happy.

At work, we have BT... What a waste of space they are! We pay for the "up to" 8Mbits and get around 1.6Mbits. I have been told I should get around 5.5Mbits at max, but never got anywhere near.

I would expect that if I pay for "up to" 8Mbits, I should get at least 75% of this. It is a big con and "up to" should go!

Rumour Just swinging along, Rushden, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 27 May, 2009, 13:07 GMT 14:07 UK

Never mind my speed. Yet again government want to thieve my money, just like the BBC’s tax. If people want these services let them voluntary pay for them. Not thieved from us in the form of tax.

Ray, Waltham Abbey

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

This Have Your Say is 
CLOSED

DEBATE STATUS

Total comments:
866
Published comments:
825
Rejected comments:
41
No further comments will be published as debate is now closed

MOST POPULAR NOW

From Have Your Say

PRODUCTS AND SERVICES

bbc sport Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific