Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

BBC News Updated every minute of every day



Have Your Say

Send us your feedback

New visitors:  Create your membership
Returning members:  Sign in
This debate is now closed.

Your comments on Matt Frei's Washington Diary

Send us your comments in reaction to BBC Americas correspondent Matt Frei's Washington Diary.

Read Matt Frei's Washington Diary

Published: Wednesday, 17 June, 2009, 16:26 GMT 17:26 UK

All comments as they come in

Added: Thursday, 2 July, 2009, 04:41 GMT 05:41 UK

Thanks for a perceptive analysis of Pakistan. The nation appears to subsist entirely on hatred of India. We have also helped foster this problem by thinking of Pakistan only with respect to India. By holding Pakistan accountable for misdeeds that stretch from being the nursery for terror today to a genocide of more than 3 million in the 70s, we can force them to see what this hatred has done to their own society. If Germany, once under the Nazis, can be a civilizing force today, so can Pakistan.

Tim Sutton

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 1 July, 2009, 19:10 GMT 20:10 UK

I only have one comment, and that is using Michael Jackson to make your point, in a most unflattering way, was totally uncalled for.

Other than that, I thought your story was informative, and very interesting. I guess that was two comments though..
Thanks. Karla

Karla West, Oak Ridge

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 1 July, 2009, 18:33 GMT 19:33 UK

Why America does not want to accept that Pakistan was and is a terrorist country and nothing in this word is important than hate towards India, their existence depended only on Indian hatred. India has suffered terrorism from Pakistan so long and so badly, no other country in the word has suffered. Still America acts blindly and on will of Pakistan. They force them to act against Taliban but never said a word to act against terrorist training camps in Pak-Occupied-Kashmir. Can BBC find why this?

Satish, Delhi

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 1 July, 2009, 18:18 GMT 19:18 UK

This article does not make any sense from start to finish. It starts about the reaction of pakistan when m. jackson died and starts talking about not only General Zia's death but also how its hot in Islamabad.

Naveed, Fairfax, VA USA

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 1 July, 2009, 17:48 GMT 18:48 UK

It is sad for the people when the entire country is the grip of fear.It seems every thing is disintegrating and there is no hope left for ordinary person like me.

barkat ally, islamabad

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 1 July, 2009, 16:30 GMT 17:30 UK

Well, Matt Frei is right in his assertion that pakistan is country in such a situation that its very cause of existence is becoming hollow. Unless and until the Pak Army completely, and i mean complete in the absolute sense, ends its association with extremists and terrorists, Pakistan will continue to go downhill. But India has a crucial role to play. India needs to ensure that its not the enemy, other wise the mistrust of Pakistan will stay and south asia will go downhill as well.

Umran, Dhaka

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 1 July, 2009, 16:06 GMT 17:06 UK

Matt Frei's realization "And then it struck me. Without India as its cherished enemy, Pakistan - a patchwork of diverse people, languages and geography - would have to go back to the drawing board and redefine why it actually exists" is what Indians have known for decades.

Ibrahim

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 1 July, 2009, 16:04 GMT 17:04 UK

This is in response to the Jackson-dead-and-I'm-in-Islamabad letter. Maybe the human race isn't quite yet finished as long as there are people around with the kind of consciousness and wit as Mr Frei.
Just keep the reports coming, please.
As for Pakistan, I'm not nearly so hopeful: a classic de-colonisation balls-up that has continued to fester, and fester, and fester (and I somehow have the Bharati Republic almost every bit as much in mind as well)...

Bohdan Chochol, Warszawa

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 1 July, 2009, 13:39 GMT 14:39 UK

All in all not a bad analysis with the exception of trivialization of the threat posed by India to Pakistan. During her 2008 campaign, current US VP Hillary Clinton also articulated similar sentiments. While the TTP movement currently poses the biggest threat to Pakistan, it should be noted that Pakistan's sovereignty is always challenged by India which was primarily responsible for Pakistan's breakup in 1971. Therefore, it would be highly naive for Pakistan to let its guard down against India

Faraz Muzaffar, Morris Plains, NJ

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Monday, 22 June, 2009, 22:12 GMT 23:12 UK

But but but the Obamessiah told us that Iran only had to unclench their fist and Matt Frei told us that everything would be OK now that the evil Bush had gone!!!!

Anonymous

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Monday, 22 June, 2009, 04:32 GMT 05:32 UK

Even though Iran can supply weapons and support to other conflicts, past foreign involvement in Iran's affairs gives the mullahs the luxury of being able to meddle unabated while demanding we all turn a blind eye. Anything the U.S. or Britain say or do will be criticized both domestically and abroad as too little/too much no matter what.

Speaking up for the rights of speech and association without fear of violent retribution is all they can say. The ball's in the clerics' court.

brian foulkrod

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Sunday, 21 June, 2009, 21:32 GMT 22:32 UK

Matt Frei in his usual impartial way says 'So far, Mr Obama has played a blinder' as if it were a fact not Frei's opinion one that many people disagree with (but probably not those that Frei allows himself to meet).

Presenting opinion as reportage is bad journalism.

Ralph, Oxford

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Sunday, 21 June, 2009, 24:37 GMT 01:37 UK

The latest unverified Iranian death toll is 150. Videos of brave young people losing their lives for demanding their freedom are all over the internet.

While this was going on our "leader", Barack Hussein Obama decided that it would be a good time to take his kids out for ice cream. (I am NOT kidding.)

Can you imagine the outrage if Bush decided to behave so cynically?

Dale Rider, USA

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Saturday, 20 June, 2009, 20:21 GMT 21:21 UK

My country once stood for freedom and democracy. The sniveling, groveling, appeasing and cowardly silence of Obama has shown that we have become as decadent as the people who have been complaining about us for having the audacity to stand up for our principals.

Obama's silence on this is unforgivable.

Dale Rider, USA

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Saturday, 20 June, 2009, 19:22 GMT 20:22 UK

"Treading this fine line between the Great Satan and the Great Absent - is this the first big foreign policy test of Mr Obama's presidency?"

We elected an appeasing narcissist who promised us "free things" at the cost of our freedoms and historic mission of promoting democracy around the world. Once we stood for something other than our own gratification, but we voted to become a people who put selfish, craven comfort ahead of brave principles: We voted to become more European.

Bill Grant, New York, United States

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

This Have Your Say is 
CLOSED

DEBATE STATUS

Total comments:
34
Published comments:
27
Rejected comments:
7
No further comments will be published as debate is now closed

MOST POPULAR NOW

From Have Your Say

PRODUCTS AND SERVICES

bbc sport Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific