Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

BBC News Updated every minute of every day



Have Your Say

Send us your feedback

New visitors:  Create your membership
Returning members:  Sign in
This debate is now closed.

Should MPs' expenses claims be blacked out?

The expenses claims of every MP for the past four years have been published online, but with some key details blacked out. What is your reaction?

Commons authorities published the details after a lengthy Freedom of Information battle, although the addresses that claims relate to - and correspondence - have been removed on privacy and security grounds.

This makes it impossible to see if MPs "flipped" second homes, but The Daily Telegraph says it will publish all expenses claims made by MPs this week so people can draw their own conclusions on the censoring.

What do you think of the new online system? Do you agree with the blacking out of certain details? Will you be using the system to look up your MP's expenses claims?

Read the full story

Look up your MP's expenses then comment on your findings

See what's been spotted so far

Please note: if you wish to comment on individual MP's expenses claims, positive or negative, please use the link above, as we are unable to publish them in this debate.

Published: Thursday, 18 June, 2009, 10:04 GMT 11:04 UK

All comments as they come in

Added: Monday, 22 June, 2009, 07:36 GMT 08:36 UK

Still the arrogance continues and they treat us the voters as though we are idiots.

This proves that they still don't get it.

To make matters worse Margaret Beckett for Speaker? Come on really they cannot be serious! A minister who twice failed at her job. The arrogant comtempt she showed when challenged on Question Time about her expenses proves that she and all around her think they are above us all.

How dare they treat us in this way, who do they think they are?

Ali, Somerset

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Monday, 22 June, 2009, 07:33 GMT 08:33 UK

Blaming Thatcher for all today's problems needs to reflect that if that is the case,then the current,useless gov't must be even more incompetent than we thought. If, after 13 years with absolute power, ruthlessly applied, they haven't been able to reverse these so called Thatcher legacies, it's about time they were given the bottle of whisky & loaded revolver.
Socialist dinosaurs like to delude themselves that it's all the fault of somebody else instead of their own bankrupt policies

[lorderkules], Leeds

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Monday, 22 June, 2009, 07:22 GMT 08:22 UK

Of course MPs should be allowed to blank out whatever they need to from their expenses. They do a wonderful, difficult job and do it extremely well - and they know better than us

The one who knows best of all is Gordon. He knows when we all cry out for an election that we don't really mean it. He knows that firing people for fiddling expenses just isn't fair. He knows that he needs people in place who will cover theings up and do as they are told

We must trust Gordon, he knows best...

Mike Poole, Kent, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Monday, 22 June, 2009, 07:15 GMT 08:15 UK

No.

R Wells, Lichfield

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Monday, 22 June, 2009, 07:13 GMT 08:13 UK

I think it's time we moved on from this story, it's now becoming very boring. The Telegraph with it's irresponsible reporting has completely destabilised the political system in this country to such a degree, that instead of concentrating on more major stories and events we're stuck in the groove of MP's expenses. Yes they have been greedy, but I doubt we'll ever find anyone who hasn't fiddled their expenses at some time or other. So come on HYS, move on to more important issues.

Maximus, Boxgrove UK

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Monday, 22 June, 2009, 06:51 GMT 07:51 UK

We have had statements from Gordon 'not my fault' Brown and Jacqui 'where's my plug' Smith about the need to fight organised crime. Yet here in the very heart of London is an organisation that is plundering the public funds.

And we even know the name of this organisation and its leaders. Rather than be an underworld gang they rejoice in the publicity of being beyond the law. They are called government.

How about an 'Al Capone' award for the one we think is the worst!

Paul, Sapcote

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Monday, 22 June, 2009, 06:50 GMT 07:50 UK

definatly not.
i want to know every detail of what mp's x-pens- are.
every staple and paperclip makes really exciting reading especially who spends the most on postits and rubber bands and what about all those other office materials?
new cushion covers, which carpet cleaner used so i can use the best Tory or SNP brand?
oh please i need to know every detail please no more real news i need more trivia please.

matthew scott

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Monday, 22 June, 2009, 06:50 GMT 07:50 UK

The claiming of expenses has been going on for a very long time as until recently it was seen as a perk of the job so why are we all whinging about it? Oh yes because some crooked bankrupt sold the details to the press. Now MP's are having to resign over this. Well I hope that the gutter press are happy with the pound of flesh that they paid for. Me I really don't care as I think both major parties are useless but why deride them for what is merely tradition.

Denice, London

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Monday, 22 June, 2009, 06:49 GMT 07:49 UK

it just proves that they are all scum that dont know right from wrong sack the lot and dont issue a get out of jail free card

alan surman

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Monday, 22 June, 2009, 06:49 GMT 07:49 UK

MPs expenses are a matter of national interest as it's our money in the first place. How dare they.
As to the next speaker. If MP's vote for someone whose expenses are or have been questioned, they will leave themselves wide open for defeat at the next election as well as those who have dishonored the face of politics.
There is a moral issue here and as yet I have not heard a single MP talk about their moral stand on expenses, plenty have talked about the 'rules'.
How sad they all are.

Rosemarie Rourke, Aberystwyth, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Monday, 22 June, 2009, 06:41 GMT 07:41 UK

None of my MPs claims add up. In 07/08 he claimed the maximum £23,083 for additional costs allowance and yet his submitted receipts only come to £16,779.92. Unsuprisingly, he is ignoring my emails.

Phill Watson, Rochdale

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Monday, 22 June, 2009, 06:36 GMT 07:36 UK

Why are MP's addresses so problematic ?

Blacking out their addresses is ridiculous

They will be wearing balaclavas next

Self serving bunch of flippers, imo

david williams

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Monday, 22 June, 2009, 06:35 GMT 07:35 UK

Come on G. Brown and all his cabinet. If you truly are listening to the people as you and all your cronies claim then call a general election right now and find out just how much we believe you and them. I think you are in for a nasty shock for all the 3 major parties. Come on have a minor bit of courage like our lads you lot sent to war while you lot sat back here fiddling your expenses. At least I know why so many of you had to claim for toilet paper. You got caught out. Let us decide.

[alamolicious], peterborough, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Monday, 22 June, 2009, 06:27 GMT 07:27 UK

I note reports Labour whips seeking support for Mrs Beckett.What happened to secret ballot? Mrs B has questions to answer over her expenses, didn't have a great time last time she was on question time and further reports surfaced about her slim majority. One has to respect the time she has spent serving what she believes in but can she be seen as impartial . I would argue that as John Major might have said " The curtains are closing it is almost time to get off the stage

IessexI Essex, Essex, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Monday, 22 June, 2009, 06:25 GMT 07:25 UK

"MPs should be blacked out, in other words removed from office. We don't need them, we have our own ideas and well reined-in civil servants can put those ideas into practice for us. As for the next speaker, it should be someone outside of their "pigs in troughs" culture anyone taken from the street would do. It should be someone whose name is totally unknown or we'll end up with Cliff Richard or Alan Sugar."

Edward James, Southport

Thank you Edward, I haven't laughed so hard in a long time.

Richie Rich

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

This Have Your Say is 
CLOSED

DEBATE STATUS

Total comments:
3425
Published comments:
2909
Rejected comments:
516
No further comments will be published as debate is now closed

MOST POPULAR NOW

From Have Your Say

PRODUCTS AND SERVICES

bbc sport Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific