Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

BBC News Updated every minute of every day



Have Your Say

Send us your feedback

New visitors:  Create your membership
Returning members:  Sign in
This debate is now closed.

Is the worst over?

The BBC is Taking the Pulse of the UK economy and looking at how the recession is taking effect across the country. How are you being affected?

Two-thirds of people across the UK know someone personally who has lost a job in the recession, a BBC poll has found.

But while concerns about employment may be increasing, most people believe the worst may be over - despite believing the economic situation remains tough.

We want to hear your experiences. Are you seeing signs of recovery? Or do you think the recession is still biting?

You can also have a go at describing in three words only what the first signs of economic recovery will be for you.

Read your three word comments

Read your experiences

Published: Tuesday, 14 July, 2009, 12:03 GMT 13:03 UK

All comments as they come in

Added: Friday, 17 July, 2009, 16:05 GMT 17:05 UK

Returning Social Conscience

Josh Robson

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 17 July, 2009, 15:58 GMT 16:58 UK

The unemployment figures do not paint the full picture. They assume people sign on when they are unemployed the reality is that for many people with savings and portfolio careers it makes little sense or relevance to sign on.

The reality is that may of us are unemployed or underemployed; contractors with no contracts, people only working a couple of days a week instead of five, people running their own businesses selling and marketing but with diminishing revenues or very low revenues.

david, Winchester

Recommended by 1 person

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 17 July, 2009, 14:11 GMT 15:11 UK

No still not getting paid enough to cope with the increased gas, electricity, credit cards to pay off, house insurance, its all money you dont get value for

Sally, Nuneaton

Recommended by 1 person

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 17 July, 2009, 13:38 GMT 14:38 UK

Things are not getting better. Not enough new work comming in to pay the bills.

Kevin Roche, Basingstoke

Recommended by 1 person

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 17 July, 2009, 12:42 GMT 13:42 UK

Banker's bunuses back

John Stower, Hoylake

Recommended by 3 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 17 July, 2009, 12:39 GMT 13:39 UK

The reality of the market economy has been revealed as nothing more than the largest poker game in the world. Right now everyone with influence and capital is keeping the cards to their chest and refusing to show their hand. Meanwhile order-books remain empty and jobs disappear. Some bravery is needed from the private sector to show a commitment matching that displayed by government.

DAVID SHAW, Camden Town

Recommended by 3 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 17 July, 2009, 11:10 GMT 12:10 UK

The Jobcentre recommended a job in a shop - a large company, it sounded good, but when asked how many applied for it, she said "oh about 2000 applicants".

I asked "For how many jobs?"

She said "oh but its for 100 vacancies"

I rolled my eyes bcos I didn't fancy my chances against that many applicants, even with my background! She just looked at me with contempt.....

Think I'll wait for a better job opportunity.

christopher given

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 17 July, 2009, 10:44 GMT 11:44 UK

the green shots of recovery are clearly visible to those who look for them.It's never been an easy ride up here, but it will get a dam site worst under a conservative Government. I remember the 80/90's and we are nowhere near that level of hardship, my mortgage is lower, my kids are being educated, and my fathers health is being taken care of.

David, North Tyneside

Recommended by 2 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 17 July, 2009, 10:37 GMT 11:37 UK

starting my own business!

joseph, leeds

Recommended by 1 person

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 17 July, 2009, 09:08 GMT 10:08 UK

We'll get through this, as we always do. In the meantime it's a great investment opportunity.

Andrew, Tayport, Fife

Recommended by 1 person

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 17 July, 2009, 09:03 GMT 10:03 UK

Lets not get too complacent, things do look as though they are getting better, but it can turn quickly.

Kevi Assinder, Christian Malford

Recommended by 2 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 17 July, 2009, 08:37 GMT 09:37 UK

I used to work for a large mobile telecom company in Newbury, as an IT consultant, but am now unemployed. The IT project I worked on moved into its 'support' phase, and the technical jobs are now being done by Indian consultants. I hoped for a role, but they were not advertised locally or even within the company. The UK's 'points based' system has failed me.

John, West Berkshire

Recommended by 2 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 17 July, 2009, 05:43 GMT 06:43 UK

Life would be better for everyone if retired people like us spent their savings on things that improve their lives. Many of us were taught to be careful and to save for a rainy day, and we find it hard to spoil ourselves. Get a taxi, have a meal out, get the house decorated, buy your wife a surprise treat.
If you still find it hard to spoil yourself after all those years, give £100.00 to your local Scout Group for uniforms for hard-up families

David Butland, Bridlington

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 17 July, 2009, 24:10 GMT 01:10 UK

Due in the Jobcentre today, to hear the question "So how's your jobsearch going?". I reply, "There are no jobs" which is true.

Noone is leaving their jobs, it's too risky at the moment. No doubt I'll be put on some dumb training course - oh, wait, but I've done that but it didn't help. Why don't the Government let the umemployed choose their own training and pay for it out of the taxes we paid them.

christopher given

Recommended by 1 person

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 16 July, 2009, 22:28 GMT 23:28 UK

I work (well used to) in IT. Things are bad and getting worse. I and 10 others were replaced by Indians in June. This, despite them not supposed to be able to get work visas unless there is a demonstrable shortage of skills within the country. Until the government puts the rights of UK workers before those of big companies (Capita, EDS, IBM etc.), then they'll continue to In-source the roles to foreigners who'll work for less and send the money home to the detriment of the economy.

Kenny, Tarporley

Recommended by 2 people

Alert a Moderator

This Have Your Say is 
CLOSED

DEBATE STATUS

Total comments:
791
Published comments:
697
Rejected comments:
36
No further comments will be published as debate is now closed

MOST POPULAR NOW

From Have Your Say

PRODUCTS AND SERVICES

bbc sport Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific