Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

BBC News Updated every minute of every day



Have Your Say

Send us your feedback

New visitors:  Create your membership
Returning members:  Sign in
This debate is now closed.

Will Obama's healthcare plan work?

President Barack Obama has defended his plans for health reform and pledged to push them through by the end of the year. Do you support them?

His plans would reduce health costs, increase choice and widen coverage. Congress is currently debating various proposals, and lawmakers are struggling to reach agreement.

Mr Obama said he now saw "broad agreement" on passing a reform, but a few issues still needed working out. The president has made passing a healthcare reform bill the top priority of his first year in the White House.

Does the US health care system need reform? Will Barack Obama's proposals make things better? Do you have a personal experience of using the heathcare system in the US?

Read the full story

US readers' views on health reform

Upload your comments on video

Published: Thursday, 23 July, 2009, 10:52 GMT 11:52 UK

All comments in recommendation order

Added: Friday, 24 July, 2009, 12:42 GMT 13:42 UK

I worked in healthcare half my lifetime and no, Pres O's plan will not work. It will reduce the quality of healthcare. Currently there are not enough qualified h.c. workers. Healthcare is complex and requires years of study for many positions. You don't get that kind of workforce by having them watch TV or play vidgames.

Pres O thinks he not only knows all about healthcare, but also about what it takes to do the job of a policeman. Wrong on both counts!

Clearly Thinking, Texas, United States

Recommended by 3 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 24 July, 2009, 12:36 GMT 13:36 UK

I hope that the entire plan fails to be approved. I have health care because I attended night school after the military to improve my financial standing through better employment. Like many others in my position, I worked for what I have. I refuse to pay for those who sit at home on welfare and breed, and then complain about life being unfare to them. Even my 19 year old daughter has employer supplified health care working in a fast food joint in MN. Who is Obama really trying to help ?

SRC, Palm Bay, Fl.

Recommended by 3 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 24 July, 2009, 12:32 GMT 13:32 UK

Obama's plan will not work on any level. Contrary to what you might read and see on US news feeds, it is enormously unpopular with the people. We don't want long waits and denied treatment. We want our doctors and ourselves to make decisions about our health care. We see "comparative effectiveness research" and "data driven solutions" for exactly what they are. If legislators disregard our will on this, they are going to pay a very heavy price in 2010.

Matt Pemberton, Burke, VA

Recommended by 3 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 24 July, 2009, 12:15 GMT 13:15 UK

Well if this new health care is so great, then tell me why our great law makers are exempt from this plan? If it passes by law I must have their plan or pay a $2500.00 fine and over a 10 year period I lose my private health care.

Let the ones who wrote this try it out first if they are still alive after 10 years I'll take a look at it.If they think it is good for me I think it is good for them!

M Black

Recommended by 3 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 24 July, 2009, 12:11 GMT 13:11 UK

I note the only people who think his plan will work are foreigners (ie the people who won't have to pay the trillions of dollars of this insane policy). If you would like to fund this reform, we can talk. Otherwise, stay out of it.

Jim, Charleston

Recommended by 3 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 24 July, 2009, 09:42 GMT 10:42 UK

Yes,it will work 100 percent.

Abraham orume, kumba, Cameroon

Recommended by 3 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 24 July, 2009, 08:31 GMT 09:31 UK

Countries those keep reforming their health care plans giving it the top priority can have a healthy nation since health is the biggest wealth for humans on this planet.

US president is doing excellent by caring to pay top priority on the nation's health. May his mission receive positive response, co-operation and result!

ARShams Reflection, Pakistan

Recommended by 3 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 24 July, 2009, 08:12 GMT 09:12 UK

All who back it should understand the fight it entails, billion $ insurance co's will not simply roll over and give up feeding off you. The saddest thing I ever saw in the US was a Vet of Korea and WW2 denied even simple assistance as he died. The family had to spend all that he had saved just to make him comfortable. Do you see the pattern here? You get old, your gonna get sick, and then they get you. Thoughs with, be ashamed to lecture those without, they often died for you.

Goose, Fresno

Recommended by 3 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 24 July, 2009, 07:34 GMT 08:34 UK

A friend of mine who is American and lives there has told me that many oppose a kind of National Health Service as it is a form of socialism. Perhaps, if people realised how very wonderful socialism can actually be the world may be a better place for far more many people to be in-not just the rich. I have always considered making money out of illness is pretty sick in itself.

Frank, London

Recommended by 3 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 24 July, 2009, 04:00 GMT 05:00 UK

Obama will bankrupt the usa.

Fred Best, Valley Center

Recommended by 3 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 24 July, 2009, 04:20 GMT 05:20 UK

People outside the US love criticizing things they know nothing of. I am 49, grew up in the lower middle class here in the US, have had numerous employers, and have had nothing but excellent health benefits all my life. Payments have been deducted from my income, but my health is of great value and I am happy to pay for it. Do I believe the system needs drastic changes? Absolutely not. Improvements? Sure.

be aware

Recommended by 3 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 24 July, 2009, 03:57 GMT 04:57 UK

If this bill passes, the world's economic recovery will be haulted. Instead of buying goods, I and the rest of the americans will be paying for everyone's insurance.

One Question. If our healthcare is so bad, why do Canadians cross the border to Buffalo and Detroit to get MRI's and why are Southern California and Texas's hospitals loaded with patients from Mexico?

[jtroup491], Harrisburg, United States

Recommended by 3 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 24 July, 2009, 02:11 GMT 03:11 UK

If you can afford a premium of about $1,000/month (for a family of four) for health insurance, then you're OK. However, if you cannot and in need for elective surgery, well you are out of luck in getting an HMO to enable your needs.
Medical malpractice insurance does take a hefty chunck out of surgeons salaries, as the American society is a litigious one.

Brian Merritt, Ottawa, Canada

Recommended by 3 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 24 July, 2009, 03:19 GMT 04:19 UK

Tell that to my grandma's two dead brothers who were denied medical treatment for early prostate cancer. They were in their 80's and it was considered too costly for the socialized medical program in Canada to cash out for two "old men."

Kayla, Kansas

This is the typical, very likely untrue or half true, scare tactic used by lobbyists and right wing fear mongers that keeps us from having Universal affordable health care and what our President is up against. God Help us !

John Sauter, Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

Recommended by 3 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 24 July, 2009, 02:35 GMT 03:35 UK

USA has v. powerful lobby's doctors and pharmaceuticals being just a few, they can make or break this plan. Infact it may not even pass in the senate even with an overlwhelming democratic majority. Just goes to show how politicians can play with your lives literally.
This plan may work if it is styled on our Canadian basis, thank God for being a Canadian!!!!!!

[Politicalobservor]

Recommended by 3 people

Alert a Moderator

This Have Your Say is 
CLOSED

DEBATE STATUS

Total comments:
1423
Published comments:
1012
Rejected comments:
174
No further comments will be published as debate is now closed

MOST POPULAR NOW

From Have Your Say

PRODUCTS AND SERVICES

bbc sport Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific