Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

BBC News Updated every minute of every day



Have Your Say

Send us your feedback

New visitors:  Create your membership
Returning members:  Sign in
This debate is now closed.

Should armed forces payouts be cut?

A legal bid by the Ministry of Defence to try to cut the compensation awarded to two injured servicemen has attracted widespread criticism. When should soldiers get compensation?

One of the soldiers, who was shot in the leg in Iraq, initially received £9,250, while the other, injured in training, got £8,250, but the payouts were later increased to £46,000 and £28,750 respectively due to complications.

While both men say they suffered subsequent health problems which should not be regarded as separate from their original injuries, the MoD argues they should only be compensated for their "original injuries".

Are you a soldier? Have you been compensated for your injuries? When should the MoD pay compensation? Should soldiers only be compensated for “original injuries” or should the compensation system go further?

Read the full story

You can also send your comments on video to yourpics@bbc.co.uk or text them to 61124. If you have a large file you can upload here. At no time should you endanger yourself or others, take any unnecessary risks or infringe any laws.

Read the terms and conditions

Published: Tuesday, 28 July, 2009, 09:35 GMT 10:35 UK

All comments as they come in

Added: Wednesday, 29 July, 2009, 18:11 GMT 19:11 UK

The armed forces have more admirals than ships, and a squadron leader for each plane. All this non-fighting top brass with big salaries and pensions and benefits. They have transport helicopters brought by the tories in 1995 that still aren't in service and pay 3 times what isreal pays for helicopters. Yet to make savings they want to reduce payouts to fighting soldiers. It makes me very angry. If it's a Labour failing, let's hear D Cameron pledge to change it.

[michellegrand], Alton, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 29 July, 2009, 18:08 GMT 19:08 UK

I don't believe that the MOD should be paying compensation for injured military personnel - that money should be spent on proper equipment and facilities for the troops. Any expense for injured troops should come from the social services budget. Yes, the powers that be will shout that they can't afford it while supporting the rest of us at home, but if we want to be involved in wars in other countries then those of us at home have to make do with less.

kate

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 29 July, 2009, 18:00 GMT 19:00 UK

Compensation is the wrong word.

It should be when will our injured service people be cared for in the correct manner.

£100k makes you richer, does it restore your site, re-grow those limbs - NO.

Treatment and support in a military hospital with the best treatment possible which sometimes can take a long time, and again to come to terms with. Then there is the families who also need support and care/finance.

It's more than money, a lot, lot more.

[chrisk50]

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 29 July, 2009, 17:44 GMT 18:44 UK

It's depressing, but this decision is just symptomatic of the MOD's attitude to the military. The MOD is a Department of State staffed mostly by civilians, most of whom care. But they spend their lives looking at why they should NOT do things rather than why they should. Hence this decision. Someone will get an OBE for this in the New Year Honours List!

[p1kef1sh], Salisbury, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 29 July, 2009, 17:43 GMT 18:43 UK

What a public spirited person you are. Part of me almost wishes we'd lose this war, just to see the look on your face when it dawns on you what living under the Taliban is actually like.
Sally, Hullbridge Essex

Because if we lose this war, we'll be living under the Taliban ?
What planet are you on ?

Mr Cholmondley-Warner, Uxbridge

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 29 July, 2009, 17:28 GMT 18:28 UK

What a public spirited person you are. Part of me almost wishes we'd lose this war, just to see the look on your face when it dawns on you what living under the Taliban is actually like.

Sally, Hullbridge Essex

Very public spirited attitude also!!!

JH

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 29 July, 2009, 17:28 GMT 18:28 UK

As an ex-serviceman I am appauled by the couldn't care less attitude of this government they only induce contempt.

william clarke, Bournemouth, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 29 July, 2009, 17:27 GMT 18:27 UK

Compensation is all about the needs of the person who is injured.This is not about politions manipulating the course of justice to suit their budget.the courts should determine compensation claims based on need! The legal redress of rectification is used in UK courts in the private sector. The high cost of compensation for UK subjects is an essential governents issue which encourages a constant and continually enhanced duty of care to supply,feed and protect our solders on active duty..

Peter Jones, Reading

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 29 July, 2009, 17:24 GMT 18:24 UK

We dont know all the facts.It might be that these personnel have retired on a full army pension early and in which case they might well be getting more than reported.
It's another legacy of this wretched governments foreign policy that there are a collosal number of wounded service personnel coming back from Iraq and a Afghanistan.
They should be compensated for their injuries -but why are they sustaining them in what is widely viewed as a war that is a complete failure -shame on m.p's

Mark, Salford

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 29 July, 2009, 17:22 GMT 18:22 UK

Soldiers should receive the amount the 3 learned judges agreed with as they had the full particulars before them.

If the sons of Bliar, Straw, Prescott etc were in the armed forces and had the misfortune to be hurt would they not be receiving as much compensation as possible?

[ATrueblueOne]

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 29 July, 2009, 17:21 GMT 18:21 UK

NO! I think the armed forces should receive BIGGER payouts. It's about time our government paid more than lip service to these brave men and women.

Trouble McTrouble, Tean, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 29 July, 2009, 17:09 GMT 18:09 UK

Now the soldiers know what they are worth,perhaps they will rethink whether they join or not.

NOTRUST, UK

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 29 July, 2009, 17:05 GMT 18:05 UK

"Part of me almost wishes we'd lose this war, just to see the look on your face when it dawns on you what living under the Taliban is actually like."

Sally, Hullbridge Essex

Part of me also wishes we lose this war, so you can explain why the Taliban haven't suddenly gained a professional Arny, Navy and Air Force and why they haven't suddenly gained an ability to invade a country that does. The Taliban are as much of a threat to the UK as my dinner is to peace in the Middle East.

Arthur Pint

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 29 July, 2009, 17:00 GMT 18:00 UK

can they not invest towards a pension

john mitchell, dumbarton, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 29 July, 2009, 16:36 GMT 17:36 UK

Under Labour we spend 5% of GDP on defence & 20% of GDP on social services. Our soldiers die & are maimed while the left wing make hay with tax payers' money. Labour was born of Scottish Methodism, but it has been hijacked by Marxist Leninism. Labour hate the military, they hate Christianity, they hate Britain. Clement Attlee, a great man, (IMO our greatest PM & one of the reasons I joined the labour party) who served his country with distinction, in two world wars, must be turning in his grave.

Sally, Hullbridge Essex

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

This Have Your Say is 
CLOSED

DEBATE STATUS

Total comments:
1752
Published comments:
1581
Rejected comments:
171
No further comments will be published as debate is now closed

MOST POPULAR NOW

From Have Your Say

PRODUCTS AND SERVICES

bbc sport Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific