Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

BBC News Updated every minute of every day



Have Your Say

Send us your feedback

New visitors:  Create your membership
Returning members:  Sign in
This debate is now closed.

What was your favourite childhood toy?

UK organisers of a project to build a house made entirely out of Lego bricks have been inundated with requests from people who want to help. Which childhood toys do you still love?

Top Gear presenter James May is to build and live in the two-storey house - which will be life-size with a staircase, toilet and shower - for the BBC series James May's Toy Stories.

The event follows two other successful toy challenges which saw May build a Plasticine garden, winning the People's Choice Award at the Chelsea Flower Show, and also the world's largest model plane.

What toys do you buy your children? Did you ever build anything unusual from your toys? What toys and games would you like to see make a comeback? Do you have any other toy challenges for James May?

Read the full story

Send us your story ideas

You can also send pictures of your Lego creations to yourpics@bbc.co.uk or text them to 61124. If you have a large file you can upload here. At no time should you endanger yourself or others, take any unnecessary risks or infringe any laws.

Read the terms and conditions

Published: Friday, 31 July, 2009, 09:58 GMT 10:58 UK

All comments as they come in

Added: Sunday, 2 August, 2009, 02:32 GMT 03:32 UK

indoors

Lego , Meccano , Monopoly , Atari 2600

outdoors

BMX !!!

Salem, Saudi Arabia

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Sunday, 2 August, 2009, 02:29 GMT 03:29 UK

indoors

Lego , Meccano , Monopoly , Atari 2600

outdoors

BMX !!!

Salem, Saudi Arabia

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Sunday, 2 August, 2009, 02:13 GMT 03:13 UK

My favourite toy was, strictly speaking, not a toy. It was a superherterodyne shortwave radio that I built myself, using a diagram from an electronics magazine and parts --- resistors, condensors, switches, etc.,that I bought at various electronic shops of a sort that alas, has now disappeared from our cities. I had access to a Leica camera and so also built a super-sensitive and very accurate light meter. of which I was very proud, and wore it proudly on a lanyard around my neck.

C. Alexander Brown, Rockcliffe Park, Canada

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Sunday, 2 August, 2009, 01:53 GMT 02:53 UK

A crystal radio around 1950. I used to spend hours at bedtime tweaking the dial to get Radio Luxembourg
Joseph Stamp
& Joseph, in the Sixties,I was doing the same for my favourite stations, Radio Caroline & North Sea Int. My little transistor was my saviour then...I could drift away on all the dulcet notes, semibreves & quavers & sleep forever with the sounds of the day transfixed in my head. Ah...Music isn’t “what it used to be”. But my radio probably was still never as grand as yours!

Jaker, London & Dublin

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Sunday, 2 August, 2009, 01:39 GMT 02:39 UK

I used to get a towel rolled it and pretend that it was a doll. Kids now a day have it too easy.

Sylvia Martinez, Los Angeles, United States

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Sunday, 2 August, 2009, 24:50 GMT 01:50 UK

a football mainly or marbles aye remember them, or jacks. if inside airfix kits ands meccano or lego. or a sheet and some sticks to make a tent and make picnics and go off for hrs in fresh air.
fishing as i got older.the kids today are bored rigid with any of this which is why they are overweight and unhealthy

gail ward, northumberland, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Sunday, 2 August, 2009, 24:33 GMT 01:33 UK

Our best toy was NATURE. My family home was on the water. We had a private beach, dock with a boathouse. We spent many hours swimming, fishing, diving and many other things. We were never board. If today's young were as active as my generation, obesity might be less of a problem.

Bryan Clegg, United States

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Saturday, 1 August, 2009, 23:52 GMT 00:52 UK

Cap pistols, marbles, books...and trees. I hardly set foot on the ground from ages 4-10, thereby learning that most people don't look UP and that if you sit still birds and squirrels don't mind you being there at all.

Jamie Payne, Eugene, United States

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Saturday, 1 August, 2009, 23:44 GMT 00:44 UK

Not sure I can pick one favourite, but to narrow it down:
Polly Pockets (when they were actually pocket size, and no more than about 1cm in height per doll!)
A load of plastic food and a basket, scattered around the house so I could go "shopping"
Dolls
And I think my brother and I spent many an afternoon with a bucket of wodden building blocks, creating either castles for our little character toys, or engine sheds for his Thomas the Tank Engine trains!

Natalie Bolton, Sutton, Surrey

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Saturday, 1 August, 2009, 23:28 GMT 00:28 UK

My favorite toy was an electric freight train by Lionel. I got it for Christmas in 1935 or '36. I still have it . I can not run it because the engine wheels are worn out. Wish I could fix it !

willis marshall, new bloomfield, United States

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Saturday, 1 August, 2009, 23:25 GMT 00:25 UK

MY fav toy wasnt really a toy it was a pen and paper roleplay game called RIFTS. Written by palladium games the entire story was centred around the earth about 300 years after a cataclysmic event that destroyed everything and unleashed undead monsters magic and god knows what on to the planet.

Unfortunatly parents were just happy we were quiet rolling dice and writing in pads. THey didnt realise that most of the roleplay was about drug abuse, summoning evil, giant robots and death :)

andrew, chesterfield

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Saturday, 1 August, 2009, 23:16 GMT 00:16 UK

My favorite toy was a cart made by my dad from an jaffa orange box. He mad the stearing lead from a bit of my mums broom handle. Devorated the sides with beer bottle tops. The seat had a cushion crocheted by my nan. I loved it to bits. and it cost nothing but my dear dads time.

[countryjane], Bognor Regis, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Saturday, 1 August, 2009, 23:09 GMT 00:09 UK

My Lone Star Winchester Rifle and Colt 45's, later on my Airfix SLR which fired wee plastic bullets - no cop ever thought they were real - then again that was in the sixties when cops and sensible people were not paranoid about everything.

Corgi and Dinky toys (blue and white striped box, still have them)

Playing in the woods across from my house with my pals, drinking from a stream and climbing trees.

Palladin, Scotland

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Saturday, 1 August, 2009, 23:06 GMT 00:06 UK

Meccano best toy I ever had, makes you think, makes your work at it.

Dave Potts, Surrey, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Saturday, 1 August, 2009, 22:58 GMT 23:58 UK

My Hornby Train Set that I used to setup crashes and I used the transformer to electrolyse salt water solution to make chlorine. Then there was my invisible gang that righted the world's wrongs. Lighting bangers tied to stones so they'd explode underwater down the pond... just like a scene from Stingray. My Mamod steam engine, great excuse to have methylated spirits and matches available. Digging holes in the garden and putting a roof over... even dug a seperate chimney for a fire.....magic!

Pragmatic Man, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

This Have Your Say is 
CLOSED

DEBATE STATUS

Total comments:
564
Published comments:
495
Rejected comments:
69
No further comments will be published as debate is now closed

MOST POPULAR NOW

From Have Your Say

PRODUCTS AND SERVICES

bbc sport Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific