Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

BBC News Updated every minute of every day



Have Your Say

Send us your feedback

New visitors:  Create your membership
Returning members:  Sign in
This debate is now closed.

Is torture inquiry needed?

An independent inquiry is needed into claims UK security services were complicit in the torture of terrorism suspects, say MPs and peers. What do you think?

The Joint Human Rights Committee said it could not investigate properly the "disturbing number of credible allegations" of British complicity in torture, because too many questions were not being answered.

However, a spokesman for the government rejected the call for an independent inquiry, saying that the government "unreservedly condemns the use of torture" and oversight was already sufficient.

What do you think of the committee’s findings? Is oversight of the security services sufficient? Or is an independent inquiry needed?

Read the full story

You can also send your comments on video to yourpics@bbc.co.uk or text them to 61124. If you have a large file you can upload here. At no time should you endanger yourself or others, take any unnecessary risks or infringe any laws.

Read the terms and conditions

Published: Tuesday, 4 August, 2009, 08:08 GMT 09:08 UK

All comments as they come in

Added: Wednesday, 5 August, 2009, 10:58 GMT 11:58 UK

I think that ,the existing enquiry on this issue is sufficient.
Now a days,lot of new precise,scientific findings are avialable for any crime committed by an individul,by groups,by army prsonnels or from anybody.
Whatever it may be, any physical,mental torture to anybody are not acceptable.
We are Huamans.We will be a civilised person under any circumstances.

krishnamurthi ramachandran, Chennai, India

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 5 August, 2009, 10:56 GMT 11:56 UK

Stop wasting our money with endless enquiries, that prove nothing!

Dinosaur junior, Stuck in the permafrost!, Russia

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 5 August, 2009, 10:49 GMT 11:49 UK

Democracy & Religious doctrine, two ideals that can never mix, are going head to head. People all over the world are being killed or maimed and we moan about a few people, who may well have information that can save lives, having water poured over their head, kept in not nice conditions or deprived of sleep but not actually harmed. If people think this is torture then they should re-visit their history books.

STEPHEN BURMAN, EASRLEIGH, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 5 August, 2009, 10:44 GMT 11:44 UK

Torture is a criminal offence. It's for the police to investigate and the CPS to prosecute.
But we have a political police force and a political CPS. They don't investigate or prosecute crimes that are embarrassing to this govt. 100s of 1,000s made fraudulent mortgage applications, bank workers processed them, bankers packaged them up and sold them as AAA rated securities. All serious frauds carrying years in prison.
They're not our police, they're the govts.

andrew b, london

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 5 August, 2009, 10:43 GMT 11:43 UK

T'would seem many here have no reservations on inflicting cruel and unusual punishment on fellow human being based on allegations.

By the pricking of my thumbs, something wicked this way comes ..and I thought that monsters were the stuff of legend and stories - be afraid!

Mary Shelly

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 5 August, 2009, 10:42 GMT 11:42 UK

if it saves lives , do it

Pete, Birmingham

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 5 August, 2009, 10:40 GMT 11:40 UK

Were any Brits harmed?
NO!
Were any Brits present?
NO!
Could Brits have been saved by use of the information gained?
YES!

there, job done.

Lennie Small, Hampshire

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 5 August, 2009, 10:38 GMT 11:38 UK

We don't need an enquiry as the evidence on the complicity and encouragement of torture is strong and clear. Charges should be brought in a court of law and they should start at the top - with the Prime Minister and other cabinet members who presided over a system which sanctioned torture. Members of the security services and other individuals involved in torture should also be charged. Anything else is a whitewash.

Torture produces confessions but not truth.

kathleen bell, Nottingham, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 5 August, 2009, 10:34 GMT 11:34 UK

"Why? Evidence is after the event, not before it! So what do you do?

John Alexander Langley "

And a crime is committed after the event, not before.

Mark, Exeter

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 5 August, 2009, 10:32 GMT 11:32 UK

"No, these people would kill and maim innocent civilians for their own ends. Anything that stops them is justified.

[kaybraes] "

Even killing and maiming innocent civilians?

Mark, Exeter

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 5 August, 2009, 10:27 GMT 11:27 UK

We must not lower ourselves to the level of others, torture is unacceptable in any form and must be stopped throughout all society. However, problems will arise when troops are in conflict, many having seen what has happened to captured colleagues, plus the endless media cover of such terrible issues will whip up emotions, some by nature will resort to unacceptable actions. These acts must be stamped out and all people brought to justice on all sides who employ unacceptable practises.

[Y13GEO]

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 5 August, 2009, 10:12 GMT 11:12 UK

We are all getting carried away with the term "torture". These people are being subjected to no more than inconvenience. Sleep deprivation and loud music cannot be classed along with the barbarice practices of the middle ages.

Doctor Sensible, edinburgh, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 5 August, 2009, 10:03 GMT 11:03 UK

"Do terrorists concern themselves with the Geneva Convention rights of civilians? I think not!

Michael Donnelly, Preston, United Kingdom "


The question is... Do we? The answer is... Only when it suits us

The Truth, In a distant land

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 5 August, 2009, 09:52 GMT 10:52 UK

1) Yes
2) No

Chris, Birmingham

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 5 August, 2009, 09:52 GMT 10:52 UK

Cowardly & brutal assaults on any individual are indefensible at any time, when they are sanctioned by govenments it makes reasonable people feel sickened and angry, when it is sanctioned by your own government it just makes you feel absolute despair. When the BBC gives preference to comments on it's HYS that symphasise with the views of biggots & xenophobes, then you have to wonder just how long you can you stay in the country that you were born in.

[Toady_Bliar], Manchester, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

This Have Your Say is 
CLOSED

DEBATE STATUS

Total comments:
765
Published comments:
550
Rejected comments:
215
No further comments will be published as debate is now closed

MOST POPULAR NOW

From Have Your Say

PRODUCTS AND SERVICES

bbc sport Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific