Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

BBC News Updated every minute of every day



Have Your Say

Send us your feedback

New visitors:  Create your membership
Returning members:  Sign in
This debate is now closed.

How important is technology to you?

Britons are more willing to cut spending on holidays and eating out than on using the latest communication technology, an Ofcom report says. What is more important to you?

Ofcom's sixth Communications Market Report into the telecoms industry asked which items consumers were likely to cut back on - 47% opted to cut back on eating out, 41% on DIY and 41% on holidays.

This compares with only a fifth (19%) who would cut back on mobile phone spending, 16% on TV subscriptions and 10% on their broadband services.

How important are your mobile phone, TV and broadband to you? Have you cut back to save money? What did you decide to cut back on? What did you decide was worth keeping?

Read the full story

Send us your story ideas

You can also send your comments on video to yourpics@bbc.co.uk or text them to 61124. If you have a large file you can upload here. At no time should you endanger yourself or others, take any unnecessary risks or infringe any laws.

Read the terms and conditions

Published: Wednesday, 5 August, 2009, 21:18 GMT 22:18 UK

All comments as they come in

Added: Thursday, 6 August, 2009, 19:00 GMT 20:00 UK

I am amazed that people allegedly would prefer the use of mobile phone in place holiday.
They need treatment the world existed before mobiles and will exist after them.

[LaudSprowston], Norwich

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 6 August, 2009, 18:56 GMT 19:56 UK

I love technology. It opens up many doors and now I can read lots of hilariously moronic stuff that people actually believe! Such as
* "I'm English but not British"
* "My country has turned into Zimbabwe thanks to ZanuLabour"
* "taxation is theft"
* websites that powered the whole Republican misinformation campaign during the last US election, complete with links to sites that also share the same misinformation to, er, look authoritative!
* conspiracy theories about aliens

Funny.

Phosgene Gasse

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 6 August, 2009, 18:56 GMT 19:56 UK

'Does anybody remember what we did before the invention of mobile phones?

Bruce Spencer, West London, United Kingdom '

Reminds me of a great cartoon in Private Eye a few years ago. At the top it said 'Before Mobile Phones', and there was a picture of a man sitting in a train looking terrified, and thinking 'Oh no...I'm on a train and I can't tell my wife!'

Chris Day, Oxford, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 6 August, 2009, 18:45 GMT 19:45 UK

".......
Isn't technology wonderful

Tony, Wirral"

Sure is!!

I can manage my investments and bank accounts from my (secret & surprising) tax haven.

(And no! not USA)

:-)

Sen Sawdd, Agin, Dinna Ken Y Bongo

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 6 August, 2009, 18:34 GMT 19:34 UK

I think people may have answered in the context of a phone costing around £30 pm (£360 per year) for a pretty decent handset and contract compared to a £3000 European holiday for a family of 4 + spending money.

It's not really a like for like comparison is it?

I'd suggest that if people were to have the choice of a new phone or a couple of weeks break without cost being an issue, then they would opt for the holiday.

Rob M

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 6 August, 2009, 18:32 GMT 19:32 UK

It seems to me that life was better when things moved more slowly.
Instant communication means instant "botheration". I frankly hate my cell phone.

Joe Runciter, Santa Fe, United States

Youre going to love Even Greater Depression, then.

anon

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 6 August, 2009, 18:31 GMT 19:31 UK

Without the broadband, Mobile phones and the Television the present world will come to a standstill. The world has become very small and people are able to communicate from one corner of the world to the other. The question itself looks so silly as the very HYS programme will not be there without the internet!

S.Krishnamurthy, Denmark

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 6 August, 2009, 18:21 GMT 19:21 UK

It is beyond me why young women on the bus and train spend all their time playing incessantly with their mobile phones, it's a sort of addiction. Why don't the read a book or even better speak to their fellow passengers. This is another symptom on tribal Britain. They would rather text another member of their tribe than speak to someone else. God help us all.

Peter Short, Manchester

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 6 August, 2009, 18:20 GMT 19:20 UK

It's not. I use it but it's actually devisive. Seperating those that have from those that have not.Amaizing how many companies only accept job aplications 'on line'. Completly unfair. I mean why do you have to have internet access to be a road sweeper or waitress etc?

Skipsurfer, Maidstone

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 6 August, 2009, 18:20 GMT 19:20 UK

Over 60 and still working so I had to keep up with technology.I use to be intimidated by PCs, now I just hate them. I spend the day answering stupid emails asking if I recieved a piece of paper that they can't remember sending. What I could be doing is getting the work done so they would have the results and would know what happened to the doc. they sent. The other thing I hate is people walking around totally off the planet clutching the mobile as they step off the pavement in front of my car.

MadMarion, Cambridge

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 6 August, 2009, 18:16 GMT 19:16 UK

We are light years behind the USA ind the Far East. So this is a stupid topic. We are charged to much for out of date technology in the world market. I am sick of paying for Japan's reject's. The USA, Japan, China, Canada , Taiwan, Korea all get 100-150+ mb broadband as a standard and we are fighting for 8 mb if were lucky. People should wake up to it. Also why don't w have free broadband in public spaces like parks and shopping areas? OH YEAH we are only here to fatten Share holders wallets!

Rama, Londonistan

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 6 August, 2009, 18:15 GMT 19:15 UK

What have low-end consumer goods like mobile phones to do with "technology"?

[markus_uk], United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 6 August, 2009, 18:11 GMT 19:11 UK

There is something appealing about running round naked searching for fruit and nuts to eat and sleeping under the stars with no technology whatsoever.

wotan smith

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 6 August, 2009, 18:06 GMT 19:06 UK

How important is technology to you? (Very)

How important are your mobile phone, TV and broadband to you?
(Very important..all of the items that were listed...)

Have you cut back to save money? (Yes)

What did you decide to cut back on? (Other things that was not technology based items)

What did you decide was worth keeping? (TV) (Cable)...

[dennisjunior1]

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 6 August, 2009, 18:04 GMT 19:04 UK

at this time i am not using my tv because it isn't hooked up to cable. i also have a landline phone and no mobile phone. it would be difficult to give up the computer and/or newspapers. newspapers are going through restructuring too, so it will be interesting to see how it works out.

writercharlotte, usa

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

This Have Your Say is 
CLOSED

DEBATE STATUS

Total comments:
438
Published comments:
415
Rejected comments:
23
No further comments will be published as debate is now closed

MOST POPULAR NOW

From Have Your Say

PRODUCTS AND SERVICES

bbc sport Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific