Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

BBC News Updated every minute of every day



Have Your Say

Send us your feedback

New visitors:  Create your membership
Returning members:  Sign in
This debate is now closed.

How can we stop rising unemployment?

The number of people out of work in the UK has risen to its highest level since 1995 with the jobless rate among 18-24 year olds rising to 12.4%. Have you been affected?

Unemployment increased by 220,000 to 2.44 million in the three months to June, taking the jobless rate to 7.8%. Meanwhile the number of people claiming jobseeker's allowance in July increased by 24,900 to 1.58 million.

There is also rising concern about youth unemployment with Business Secretary Lord Mandelson saying that more work experience, mentoring and internships are needed to avoid a generation "lost to work".

Have you been affected by unemployment? Are you still looking for your first job? Should the government focus on youth unemployment? What can businesses do to help get people back to work? Do you have any advice for people looking for a job?

Read the full story

Send us your story ideas

Published: Wednesday, 12 August, 2009, 10:30 GMT 11:30 UK

All comments as they come in

Added: Thursday, 13 August, 2009, 09:47 GMT 10:47 UK

"The only way is for Britain to become a manufacturing nation again. Steelworks, shipbuilding, coal mining, car production and more, are all industries which made this country "Great".
Let us start competing against the rest of the world again with all these industries.

Tom McLaughlan, Western Isles, United Kingdom "

But we can't because all of these industries pollute the environment. As Britain has got to cut it's CO2 output by 28754783% before next Thursday, it can't make anything!

Steve Lave, Luton, UK

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 13 August, 2009, 09:45 GMT 10:45 UK

How can we stop rising unemployment?

Expell MP's that have shown traitorous actions from our shores, never to return. (Well thats a good 60% then that wont be missed)
Redefine the wages scale for all.
Close the immigration gates firmly.

Just get rid of Gordon and the possy of no hoppers in Westminster that surround him would be a positive start to recovery.

Westminster Mafia-no thanks, Brizzle, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 13 August, 2009, 09:43 GMT 10:43 UK

The government cannot invent jobs, this is a crisis, I feel for all young people leaving school now and in the future. Companies based in Britain must be forced to employ British labour, any company out-sourcing, manufacture & labour to other countries in order to maximise profit must be forced to either re-locate or operate fully in this country. If they say their business will go under as a consequence then so be it, they're not helping this society anyway!

jim taylor, london

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 13 August, 2009, 09:28 GMT 10:28 UK

The government has reset a higher bar fr highly skilled immigrants this year. The government is doing a lot of things to restrict immigrants but only highly skilled non-EU workers. The unemployment is not totally immigrants' fault.

Claire, London

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 13 August, 2009, 09:27 GMT 10:27 UK

I am affected by the current unemployment situation but I am an older person. The warning signs of this global crash were loud and clear at least 7 years ago.
We manufacture abroad.
Call centers are farmed out to other countries.
The service industry can only work if people are earning money and much investment was put into service industries.
We have allowed mass immigration without the industries and services to support it.
We need to start manufacturing again for the domestic market.

Frances Francis, Southampton, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 13 August, 2009, 09:25 GMT 10:25 UK

Get the banks to start increasing loans to buisnesses thus increasing the money supply which is at the heart of this recession.

Alex Jones fall of the republic

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 13 August, 2009, 09:25 GMT 10:25 UK

Recessions bring unemployment and it is difficult to artificially increase employment if the market doesn't demand it. But, a much more serious problem is the quality of people trying to enter the workforce. Equally serious is the prevailing attitude - largely brought about during the Thatcher era - that no one must assume a job for life. This is a dangerous culture - people and nations need some certainty and stability in employment to increase experience and be able to plan for the future.

Eddie D, Burnham on Crouch

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 13 August, 2009, 09:24 GMT 10:24 UK

Manufacturing in this country would cost way too much to start up. Minimum wage, etc. Except we already have a tax exempt employer and workers already being paid! We have people on benefits.

These people have some skills and some have proffessional experience. It would be easy to start up manufacturing, Gov run, employing many benefit people (contribute or no benefits). Work from home schemes and on the job training. We can get out of recession and get our moneys worth

Wayne, Lancashire

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 13 August, 2009, 09:08 GMT 10:08 UK

Employ pro-active and professional staff at the Job Centres, instead of the bone-idle unhelpful bunch there at present who cannot be bothered to lift a finger to help people into work.

They ought to be out there hustling, going to employers, pushing clients forward... acting as professional agents, helping shape careers.

But they cannot be bothered...

Megan, Cheshire UK

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 13 August, 2009, 09:04 GMT 10:04 UK

Employment can be created by governments creating jobs in repairing/rebuilding infra-structure until the economy recovers. But the cause of the present problem is that so many governments and the man in the street took on too much debt believing they would never be poor again. Then the bubble inevitably burst! Life is a bumpy road with alternate slumps and booms so let's learn and don't be caught out next time.

[isthebaropen], Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 13 August, 2009, 09:02 GMT 10:02 UK

I wonder what the real rate of unemployment would be if it were measured by the 1985 method?

Paul, Berkshire

Using the Thatcher methods todays unemployment figure would be around the million mark. Happy to be of help - but I expect it was not the answer that you wanted

John Turner, Barry, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 13 August, 2009, 08:59 GMT 09:59 UK

Well for starters we should: -

1) Kick out this government
2) Stop pursuing socialist policies
3) Stop unskilled immigration
4) Stop all benefits to career parasites
5) Reduce taxation
5) Minimize the size of government & the public service
6) Provide people with proper qualifications that the economy needs
7) Encourage small business ventures
8) Reduce local bureauracracy
9) Adopt a free market economy
10) Get out of the EU

That'll do for now.

Geoff Liberty

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 13 August, 2009, 08:58 GMT 09:58 UK

Stop buying from abroad and manufacture our own goods,we could reopen coal mines to give us the energy for the steel making that we would require.Open up our own car factories,tv,fridges,washing machines,light bulbs,clothing,furniture,everything you can think of being made once again in Britain.Full employment,no one allowed on the dole,better pensions,everyone retiring at sixty.It could be so easily done,if only we had a decent goverment,not tory or labour.Just stop buying foreign made goods

Tom mac

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 13 August, 2009, 07:58 GMT 08:58 UK

The biggest problem is that there have been too many wishy washy insurance companies, pen pushers and middle men making money out of not doing a lot. This country needs some industry with goods that are exported abroad and at home. At the moment, we have not got enough British goods being made.

Perhaps the government could have an incentive with the benefits in that people only get them if they do voluntary work. Least then people are working for benefits and also gain valuable experience.

IT worker, Southampton

Recommended by 3 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 13 August, 2009, 07:58 GMT 08:58 UK

Easy. Have a general election and get rid of this useless government who have failed in everything that is important to Britain. Bring in a government who know about values and honesty. Britain needs leaders who are respected and can offer solutions to the mess developed over the last eleven years by New Labour.

[dfspace]

Recommended by 3 people

Alert a Moderator

This Have Your Say is 
CLOSED

DEBATE STATUS

Total comments:
1263
Published comments:
974
Rejected comments:
79
No further comments will be published as debate is now closed

MOST POPULAR NOW

From Have Your Say

PRODUCTS AND SERVICES

bbc sport Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific