Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

BBC News Updated every minute of every day



Have Your Say

Send us your feedback

New visitors:  Create your membership
Returning members:  Sign in
This debate is now closed.

Should the EU welcome more refugees?

The European Commission has unveiled plans to allow more refugees from conflict zones and poor nations into European countries. What do you think?

Under the plans, EU members would jointly decide which refugee groups would receive priority resettlement, although EU nations would be free to decide whether and in what numbers they wished to resettle.

The scheme is aimed at discouraging illegal immigrants, mainly from Africa. They often rely on human traffickers and risk their lives as they try to enter the EU on rickety boats.

What do you think of the new plans? Would welcoming more refugees curb illegal immigration? Would you want your country to participate in the scheme?

Read the full story

You can also send your comments on video to yourpics@bbc.co.uk or text them to 61124. If you have a large file you can upload here. At no time should you endanger yourself or others, take any unnecessary risks or infringe any laws.

Read the terms and conditions

Published: Wednesday, 2 September, 2009, 13:56 GMT 14:56 UK

All comments as they come in

Added: Friday, 4 September, 2009, 11:03 GMT 12:03 UK

Categorically no!!!!!

[ATrueblueOne]

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 4 September, 2009, 10:54 GMT 11:54 UK

This news is deeply worrying. Politicians are playing with peoples lives on a gargantuan scale.

I am not sure how mass imigration and infrastructure and added energy and consumer requirements fit in with reducing carbon emmissions.

These people are from poor countries with little or no electricity, running water or gas let alone consumables. They come to Europe and they'll be expecting European living standards leading to higher carbon emisions and other demands. This can't be right.

Adam, Cambridge

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 4 September, 2009, 10:53 GMT 11:53 UK

The European population is not reproducing itself. the only answer is to take in more people from the outside.

Mary Gravitt, Iowa City, Iowa, United States

America is underpopulated and has plenty of room and you've been especially mean to Africans in the past - you take them and make yourselves feel better!!

[CzarCastic], Cheltenham, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 4 September, 2009, 10:51 GMT 11:51 UK

If people are genuinely in fear for their lives, then we should take them in and make it legal for them quickly & share what we have with them, we cannot turn people back to be killed & tortured. But we have nothing to offer economic immigrants, we haven't enough for ourselves. Nurses, scientists etc are a different matter, we do need them.Whatever, we should not decide who comes to the UK on grounds of race alone.

[capricornwoman]

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 4 September, 2009, 10:49 GMT 11:49 UK

"The reason the country is overcrowded is our membership of the EU in the first place, meaning we can't control our own borders. It's time to tell the EU to get stuffed."

I think you will find that there are several million Brits legally resident, working, retired ro owning 2nd homes in EU countries (especially France, Spain, Italy, Cyprus). If we told the EU to "get stuffed" they would also have to return and there are probably more of them than EU citizens living in the UK.

Duncan Idaho

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 4 September, 2009, 10:45 GMT 11:45 UK

"But once they get here they hate it. I have never met an immigrant with a good word for this country and they never stop going on about how wonderful "the old country" was and how it is so much better than Britain.

It might be better for everyone concerned if they stayed in their old countries."

In Australia they have a name for such people who have come from Britain: "whingeing Poms"!

Erwin Schrodinger

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 4 September, 2009, 10:44 GMT 11:44 UK

"Get your fact right: An "Legal" immigrant cannot claim any benefits for 5 years FACT

[Fendermanpaul]"

And to dispel another myth, immigrants legal or otherwise cannot vote. So no party in government has a motivation to import anyone who they think will vote for them. To be able to vote you have to become naturalised, a long, complex and costly process. Also FACT. Even EU citizens resident in the UK can only vote in EU elections, not UK ones.

Erwin Schrodinger

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 4 September, 2009, 10:42 GMT 11:42 UK

The UK for one, cannot keep taking people in, the country is FULL. The do-gooder liberal elite believe otherwise, they only see it through rose tinted glasses, they dont see the problems first hand on a day-to-day basis, just look around Woolwich SE18 and you'll see what I mean and thats just one example. The real answer would be to "invest" in their countries of origin but without letting the money being laundered/stolen, it would be a long haul but worth it for them and us - anyway wont happen

pc pilot, london

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 4 September, 2009, 10:42 GMT 11:42 UK

"Perhaps those people should also post on the WW2 thread that Britain was wrong to allow Jewish refugees in the 1930s "

Did those Jewish refugees:
1. Overwhelm the country's infrastructure?
2. Demand and get priority over the British?
3. Insist on turning the UK into a Jewish nation?
4. Live at the expense of the British?

No, of course they did not. What's more, the population of the UK was a lot less back then. Try comparing like with like. Times have changed in 70 years.

Michael Lloyd, Wigan, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 4 September, 2009, 10:41 GMT 11:41 UK

"How about illegal immigrants? They can claim dole.

harry portsmouth"

How can an illegal claim anything? They can't just turn up at a benefit office and say "I just arrived illegally, please give me some money and a house". The Immigration service would come down and take them away. Unless they can demonstrate entitlement they can't get anything and if they tried to then the authorities will now know of their existence and act.

James T Kirk

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 4 September, 2009, 10:41 GMT 11:41 UK

Why is the languge used, as such, to talk about immigrants ?

Is the same language used to talk about emigrants ?

How mant times is emigration talked about in the same breath as immigration ?

''Money Matters'' a new programme that deals with real money issues.

A person emigrates the country with funds of £500,000. How many immigrants, who have funds of £50,000 each, must enter the country for their to be a zero emigration/immigration fund balance ??

gjc, Bourtie

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 4 September, 2009, 10:40 GMT 11:40 UK

If they let more illegal and legal imigrants in who are extremely low skilled just to feed off out benefits system, then I fear the white working class will revolt. This policy will feed the extremists partys who now many see as the only party who is representing the way the view the UK today

[AuntieLeft], Merseyside, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 4 September, 2009, 10:34 GMT 11:34 UK

Do you really think people would risk their lives to come to Briton if they had a half decent life in their home country?

I sure as hell wouldn't want to move to a country which is relativley 25C colder and appears to be full of racist bigoted idiots who will judge me for coming to their country from a place where my family were killed by the goverment, starved to death or casulties in a war.

Colin Walker, Cardiff

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 4 September, 2009, 10:33 GMT 11:33 UK

If 2 streets away, a household is being attacked, do you stop the attack by using counter violence, or do you sneek an individual away to protect him/her at your own cost, leaving the rest to continue suffering & for other attacks to be constantly repeated, hence every so often, sneeking another victim away into your overcrowded home, that has only limited space & resources to support yourself & victims.

I suggest it is more humane & ethical to use counter violence to STOP the attacks

[MrWonderfulReality]

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 4 September, 2009, 10:32 GMT 11:32 UK

These 'economic' refugees will undoubtedly head for Britain, which is already tipping into bankruptcy.

The benefits system costs more now than the money paid in by income tax.
There will come a straw that breaks the camels back.

At what point will these EU nutters learn? When countries decend into civil war like former Yugoslavia?

Richard Buttmungous

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

This Have Your Say is 
CLOSED

DEBATE STATUS

Total comments:
1737
Published comments:
1397
Rejected comments:
336
No further comments will be published as debate is now closed

MOST POPULAR NOW

From Have Your Say

PRODUCTS AND SERVICES

bbc sport Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific