Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

BBC News Updated every minute of every day



Have Your Say

Send us your feedback

New visitors:  Create your membership
Returning members:  Sign in
This debate is now closed.

How can strategy in Afghanistan improve?

European ministers are expected to use a summit to discuss ways to promote stability in Afghanistan by focussing on reconstruction. What will it achieve?

The meeting, in Sweden, comes after Nato said civilians were likely to be among up to 90 people killed in an air strike in Afghanistan's north.

A number of ministers have called for a quick inquiry, and the US has expressed "great concern" at the incident. Afghan President Hamid Karzai said targeting civilians was "unacceptable".

Both Nato and the Afghan president have pledged to hold investigations into the air strike.

How can the EU and America improve their strategies in Afghanistan? What role should Britain play? Have you or somebody you know served in Afghanistan?

Read the full story


Published: Friday, 4 September, 2009, 11:07 GMT 12:07 UK

All comments as they come in

Added: Sunday, 6 September, 2009, 07:20 GMT 08:20 UK

prblemNATO backed president karzi brother is biggest drug trafficker & the vice presidents are warlords who have killed thousand of civilians.Governors, Parliamentarian& government offical are warlords,drug trafficker and human rights abuser. Corruption is high level every where. These are the people who are imposed by the west on Afghanistan to rule them.Would any one of the western country like to have the ruler of Afghanistan to rule them.it seemsNATO don’t want to stop Drug but to enhence it

tamur, shah

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Sunday, 6 September, 2009, 07:06 GMT 08:06 UK

NATO and leaders in western countries are mentally sick, playing war games , killing innocent people including children, elderly and women are almost normal for them, only apologize after all those kiĺlings. You didnt captured Bin Ladin, so stop killing civilians at least!
So, How can strategy in Afghanistan improve ?
Stop invading other countries and trying to introduce your democracy and other western values, keep it for you.
BBC please stop supporting BUSH-BLAIR war !!

Prague reader, Prague

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Sunday, 6 September, 2009, 06:58 GMT 07:58 UK

I've been reading 'Bring our troops home' Who do you think will follow our troops home? Mary Poppins! Protect you're borders. To late.Read any of our 'real news'. Almost to late. Boarders to protect are the Afg-Pak boarders. If the taliban get their hands on the big prize; the nukes in Pak, we can all kiss our a-- goodbye.

To A Salter. I read that book to..Carol

[carol_nv], Las Vegas, United States

Recommended by 1 person

Alert a Moderator

Added: Sunday, 6 September, 2009, 06:56 GMT 07:56 UK

Pull out now.The Afghans don't give a jot about us,democracy or defending themselves.Why do we see our boys dying while young Afghans stand by and gawp at them.If Afghans cared they'd fight back without our help.They are not worth dying for and clown Brown has to stop lying to himself and us.We have no right to impose democracy on anyone because to do so is not democratic.

Ken, Durham

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Sunday, 6 September, 2009, 06:56 GMT 07:56 UK

Our Governments have been caught out in another lie. The Lybian Bomber affair. How many times does this have to happen before this lot are turned out to do a proper job? We get the Government we deserve, but!!!!! Afghaistan is not our problem Great Britain is.

[happybrian123]

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Sunday, 6 September, 2009, 06:54 GMT 07:54 UK

Well at least the Afghan leader was elected.

And we're trying to force democracy on *them*?

[SudaNim], United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Sunday, 6 September, 2009, 06:50 GMT 07:50 UK

Bomb the place flat, it is not worth the life of another allied soldier

Peter, Oxford

u think they didnt?

Torabora area was bombed evry inch of it

u cant win there even with nukes

salem, saudi arabia

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Sunday, 6 September, 2009, 06:49 GMT 07:49 UK

the taliban were the ones who destroyed the opium feilds...
but soon has us and uk forces went in.. the fields were operating again....
its big business and i think the western goverments want to keep it going..

and what propaganda...women are starved for not having sex. lol.
the west is best at propaganda ..we all know that just look at the current politics....

nadeem anwar, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Sunday, 6 September, 2009, 06:39 GMT 07:39 UK

People are planting bombs for £5.00 a time to keep their families fed. Gordon Brown used the five Buxton Coefficients of Unemployment to create full employment and month on month of economic growth in the UK when he was Chancellor. They can be used more effectively so that everywhere has jobs, and not just in London. Full employment and economic growth would end the fighting in Third World wars. It is simply a matter of persuading Gordon Brown that this is a nice thing to show them how to do it.

Andrew Kadir-Buxton

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Sunday, 6 September, 2009, 06:31 GMT 07:31 UK

There are to little troops in Afghanistan for effective operations. There needs to be a significant larger contribution of supplies and men so that this problem can be solved in the next couple or years and not the next 15.

jordan, NZ

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Sunday, 6 September, 2009, 06:30 GMT 07:30 UK

Brits Out, Yankee Go Home.

Andy, Far Away From Home

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Sunday, 6 September, 2009, 06:30 GMT 07:30 UK

It's about time that that Gordon Brown realised that our involvement in this war is just another of Tony Blairs silly and selfish ideas, he needs to listen to the British people, dump Blairs legacy and start bringing our troops home now.

[AmAlwaysRight], United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Sunday, 6 September, 2009, 06:23 GMT 07:23 UK

The only viable strategy is to get out as the Russians did.
It will happen.

Tibor TK, Neuss

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Sunday, 6 September, 2009, 06:22 GMT 07:22 UK

This war will end for the politicians when they run out of other peoples lives to sacrifice

[lorderkules], Leeds

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Sunday, 6 September, 2009, 06:14 GMT 07:14 UK

The strategy can be improved when the western community gives up support of warlords,who destroyed this country, and uproot corruption by shouldering up those persons who are capable and can real have place in hearts of afghans. Avoid bringing more so-called consultants who looted the money the international community brought to the country and lastly create jobs by lunch projects on infrastructure which includes dams, agriculture, governance and shelters for returnees.

Iqbal M. Miakhel, Kabul Afghanistan

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

This Have Your Say is 
CLOSED

DEBATE STATUS

Total comments:
1338
Published comments:
1176
Rejected comments:
162
No further comments will be published as debate is now closed

MOST POPULAR NOW

From Have Your Say

PRODUCTS AND SERVICES

bbc sport Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific