Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

BBC News Updated every minute of every day



Have Your Say

Send us your feedback

New visitors:  Create your membership
Returning members:  Sign in
This debate is now closed.

Should Zimbabwe sanctions end?

Is it time for the international community to remove all forms of sanctions against Zimbabwe?

Southern African leaders have called for all sanctions on Zimbabwe to be lifted now that enough progress has been made in putting together a unity government.

Analysts are seeing it as a victory for President Robert Mugabe, who has long argued against sanctions, while rights groups say removing the sanctions will bring benefits to the very people the measures were meant to punish.

Is it time to end sanctions on Zimbabwe? Do you see this call as a sign of faith in the unity government? Should the removal of sanctions be tied to certain conditions? Or should trade sanctions be lifted and smart sanctions kept?

Published: Wednesday, 9 September, 2009, 10:19 GMT 11:19 UK

All comments as they come in

Added: Thursday, 10 September, 2009, 18:47 GMT 19:47 UK

What do the Zimbabwean people want? Poll them. If they want the sanctions ended,end them.

[pontiac1], Little Neck, United States

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 10 September, 2009, 17:39 GMT 18:39 UK

i think that Jacob Zuma is now showing to all africans who he is that is whuyy it is said look not at the outside they can be decieving, mugabe and his wicked line should remain under the sanction untill the free the people that they are trying to oppress,
zuma should know that all Africans fought for the freedom of S/Africa and now he is seeing the same happening to the eople in zimbabwe and is supporting this man god is seeing and hearing you Zuma ZIMBABWES SANCTION SHOULD REMAIN

jikka stephen, jos city

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 10 September, 2009, 17:11 GMT 18:11 UK

Are sanctions applicable only on poor and weak countries?

ARShams Reflection, Pakistan

Recommended by 1 person

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 10 September, 2009, 16:49 GMT 17:49 UK

there is one thing that the world should know and that is ever since the sanctions were imposed on Zimbabwe, they have dealt a serious blow to the common man. They never affected the majority of politicians who are the ostensible targets . One thing is for certain . The continued sanctions are alienating the common man from the west. I just wish the West could learn to negotiate as there is greater leverage in diplomacy than in war. Sanctions must go. Africa forward never backwards.

robert muchibwa, cape town

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 10 September, 2009, 16:18 GMT 17:18 UK

I sanction against the "Proposal"!

v.gerrard, Dublin

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 10 September, 2009, 14:15 GMT 15:15 UK

No, not till Mugabe is dead. His racist killings should never be forgotton and sanctions should remain until he has gone. The only reasons we didn't invade and depose him, like Saddam, is they have no oil and we sold them all the weapons to kill the white's who ran the country.

Lord Lindley, Peak District

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 10 September, 2009, 13:43 GMT 14:43 UK

NO!

[jferg61], United States

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 10 September, 2009, 13:31 GMT 14:31 UK

No.

[chiptheduck], England, a suburb of Brussels

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 10 September, 2009, 12:42 GMT 13:42 UK

Sanction itself is in human and anyone who die due sanctoin is same as if he or she is murdered. Therefore it shouldn,t be there at the first place.

Ahmed Noor, Gothenburg

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 10 September, 2009, 12:36 GMT 13:36 UK

Before sanctions are lifted, the question needs to be asked 'What is going to happen to all the corrupt people that were banned from travelling and had assets seized by the EU?'
Is this another case of politicians patting each other on the back and pretending that all is well again just because their is a power sharing government?
The corrupt need to be punished and have al their wealth stripped and given back to the common people for justice to be served.
The answer is NO!!!

David Chivers, Lusaka, Zambia

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 10 September, 2009, 12:29 GMT 13:29 UK

Trade sanctions - what has Zimbabwe got to offer. They could buy, but with what, a currency that loses it's value the moment it's handed over.

The only trade that should take place, sanctions are lifted if Mugabe steps down.

[chrisk50]

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 10 September, 2009, 12:17 GMT 13:17 UK

Simple solution to all parties; Leave the sanctions on the leadership in Zimbabwe e.g. Robert Mugabe and his people that were in government and, loosen the sanctions on The opposition leader ...And, "lift" the sanctions against the people of Zimbabwe...

=Dennis Junior=

[dennisjunior1]

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 10 September, 2009, 11:54 GMT 12:54 UK

The biggest sanction that we have in Zimbabwe is Zanu PF itself. Zanu PF is fighting hard to ensure that the GPA is not implemented in its entirety. Those who are calling for the removal of travel bans are doing it for themselves. Europe still remains one of Zimbabwe biggest trading partners, so I dont see where these sanctions are. THERE ARE NO SANCTIONS AGAINST ZIMBABWE. Why isn't SADC calling for the full implementation of the GPA. TRAVEL BANS AND RESTRICTIONS SHOULD REMAIN.

Fortune Gwaze, Harare

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 10 September, 2009, 11:42 GMT 12:42 UK

Mugabe is evil, sanctions should remain until he is out. He is guilty of terrible human rights abuses and breeds a state of fear and oppression.

There is no other legal way the rest of the world can stand up to him without declaring war. Keep the Sanctions in place.

steven hilton

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 10 September, 2009, 11:39 GMT 12:39 UK

no the sanctions should never end.

This is a country with a terrible record of human rights abuses. To lift sanctions while the current government is still in power is to say "congratulations and carry on the good work" to them.

steven hilton

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

This Have Your Say is 
CLOSED

DEBATE STATUS

Total comments:
373
Published comments:
340
Rejected comments:
33
No further comments will be published as debate is now closed

MOST POPULAR NOW

From Have Your Say

PRODUCTS AND SERVICES

bbc sport Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific