Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

BBC News Updated every minute of every day



Have Your Say

Send us your feedback

New visitors:  Create your membership
Returning members:  Sign in
This debate is now closed.

Should Nasa get more funding?

The US space agency says it needs its annual budget boosted by $3bn if it is to conduct meaningful missions. Do you back the call?

A special panel, convened by the White House to review human spaceflight plans, has said that the spaceship and rocket programmes being developed to replace the shuttle are not presently viable.

The group, led by retired aerospace executive Norm Augustine, has given President Barack Obama a series of options to help him shape the US space agency's future. Augustine said only a funding increase can truly get Nasa back on track with further missions to the moon and beyond.

How important is funding for space exploration in the current economic times? Should Nasa's budget be increased? What do you think of the space programmes in your country?

Read the full story

Send us your story ideas

Published: Wednesday, 9 September, 2009, 10:50 GMT 11:50 UK

All comments as they come in

Added: Thursday, 10 September, 2009, 12:45 GMT 13:45 UK

After reading so many enlightened comments, I have finally come around and seen the light: scrap NASA altogether and give the money to the poor!

James Goodzeit, Queens, NY, United States

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 10 September, 2009, 12:35 GMT 13:35 UK

You lose your job, have saved for a holiday, but it you don't use the money for the mortgage you will lose your home. This one's a no brainer, you postpone the holiday. It will just as much fun next year when you can afford it. NASA needs to come to grips with the real world.

Tom, Exeter

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 10 September, 2009, 12:18 GMT 13:18 UK

Yes! Investment in NASA will stimulate growth in the science and engineering sectors and encourage science education. Plus, space exploration is just amazing!

Dominic Kearney, Manchester, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 10 September, 2009, 12:04 GMT 13:04 UK

Too many people involved in the industry to allow cutbacks. Too many making big money on investment returns to want or allow cutbacks to the Space programs; lobbyists will see to that.
Exploration is fine but it shouldn't take precedence over health, education and a country's infrastructure.

Alan, Canada.

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 10 September, 2009, 12:02 GMT 13:02 UK

How about to ask them to make some money for change?
They could sell data, services, expertise, technologies, etc to those in need for gold...

Tibor TK, Neuss

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 10 September, 2009, 12:02 GMT 13:02 UK

the western powers & japan should pool all their resources together & share space exploration costs given the state of the world economy.

hash house harrier ralphie kim..., augusta, ga, United States

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 10 September, 2009, 11:42 GMT 12:42 UK

I would have thought the US would want to sort out the millions of citizens without healthcare before spending billions on space exploration.

Lord Rightwing

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 10 September, 2009, 11:28 GMT 12:28 UK

I think acceleration of all space programmes should be a priority, it is vital for the human race that we venture out in space. The shuttle programme is not viable? Then by all means, new funding is needed to make it viable. The gains seriously overcome the costs.

Andrei Dascalu, Cluj, Romania

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 10 September, 2009, 10:53 GMT 11:53 UK

You have to treat the need according to priorities. NASA, health care,education, homeless or food..

vinod patel

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 10 September, 2009, 10:50 GMT 11:50 UK

Yeah sure - why not? It's only US$3BN - at least a few people may survive in space as we destroy this planet... They'll get a great view of the last gasp!!

In any case, US$3BN will only go so far towards preserving our forests, cleaning the air and seas, dealing with poverty & disease, provide only a few medical and educational facilities, so why not waste it all on a pointless folly like heading into space!!

Someone at NASA is getting well paid...

[Fly_n_finn], Aberdeen, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 10 September, 2009, 09:33 GMT 10:33 UK

If they can get to Mars it would be worth it, but space is a big place and there are more troubles on the ground right now.

Give it a while

Greg, UK

Recommended by 1 person

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 10 September, 2009, 09:28 GMT 10:28 UK

Definitely NASA should get more funding. They got about $17 billion in 2008, or about the same as the Afghanistan war got.. And to people who want no crime and homes for everyone before space exploration: its never going to happen. It's like waiting until every kid in class proves they know all previous lessons before teaching anything new. Its a nice idea, but it won't ever happen. And NASA has given us not only great technology; but awe, wonder and inspiration.

Bill Stannard, Wasilla, AK

Recommended by 1 person

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 10 September, 2009, 09:13 GMT 10:13 UK

nasa it looks to me as if you are replacing theory as fact,good job however the real money spent and the new money you want to prove your theorys as fact concerning hubble and the beyond , is not possible to confirm, is it ? is there a reasonable explanation or proof of purpose , for these missions and money. never the less to say the least about the most,its job security. thank you--------------------

curtis williams, springfield missouri usa

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 10 September, 2009, 08:33 GMT 09:33 UK

No! NASA should cease and the money go toward creating a greener more tolerant world. NASA is a representation of a capitalistic, nationalistic, polluting, Anglo Saxon macho society steeped in agression toward minorities, gay people and the third world.

Erin, Oakland

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 10 September, 2009, 08:24 GMT 09:24 UK

Yes they should get more funding and here's how to do it.

Charge an extra 1% interest on the bank bail out package of $388bn that generates the $3bn that NASA wants.

Nik Marshall-Blank, Salzburg

Recommended by 1 person

Alert a Moderator

This Have Your Say is 
CLOSED

DEBATE STATUS

Total comments:
160
Published comments:
133
Rejected comments:
27
No further comments will be published as debate is now closed

MOST POPULAR NOW

From Have Your Say

PRODUCTS AND SERVICES

bbc sport Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific