bbc.co.uk Navigation


Have Your Say

Send us your feedback

New visitors:  Create your membership
Returning members:  Sign in
This debate is now closed.

Are you easily distracted while driving?

Young drivers aged between 17 and 24 are the most likely people to become seriously distracted behind the wheel, according to the RAC. Do you text or play with your MP3 player while you're driving?

The top distraction in cars was found to be music, followed by sat-navs and the warning lights on dashboards.

The RAC now wants the government to promote more safety campaigns about potential in-car distractions, like adjusting the radio, heating, air conditioning and using mobiles.

The latest statistics from the Department of Transport show a big rise in the number of road deaths caused by people losing concentration.

Do you ever use your mobile or change music while you're driving? Do you think in-car entertainment is a distraction? Do you think younger drivers are more distracted behind the wheel?

Read: Young drivers 'distracted by gadgets'

Published: Wednesday, 16 September, 2009, 09:28 GMT 10:28 UK

All comments as they come in

Added: Friday, 18 September, 2009, 09:13 GMT 10:13 UK

All drivers become distracted behind the wheel, no matter how good they are. A pretty woman or man and you eye will stray. As the driver you are responsible for ever one else's actions. It is about time the Government had the gall to make everyone responsible for there actions.
The Green Cross Code is there for a reason but how many people use it. Motor Bikes and cyclists weaving in and out of the traffic, the white line is there for a reason and crossing it you are in the wrong lane.

Peter, Portsmouth

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 18 September, 2009, 09:11 GMT 10:11 UK

Distraction while driving is from three sources.
Loud music audio euipment should be restricted to less than 10 watts. and it ahouls be illegal to install or sell large amplifiers which are a major factor in Hearing Loss. {health and safety]
Telephones which should automatically be disabled when a car is in gear.[health and safety ?]
Road side signs which are not related directly to highway use and directions. This should also include Adverising hoardings.

Edward Dowty, Kings Lynn, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 18 September, 2009, 09:05 GMT 10:05 UK

I drive all over Europe which makes my sat-nav essential. I'm used to it now and it increased the pleasure (sic) I get from driving. In the early stages though it was a major distraction.

Music, heavy music tends to make me drive faster. Music without words is better apparently because it engages the the part of the brain we don't use for driving.

From what Ive seem that makes little difference to some that seem not to use any part of the brain for driving.

Phones? Please dont.

Philip Jones, Frangy France

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 18 September, 2009, 09:01 GMT 10:01 UK

what's the problem here ?, I use a USB stick with 4000 songs on it and a bluetooth handsfree phone , both controlled from the steering wheel , and the satnav when I use it sit's on the dash in my line of sight, but issues voice commands so I hardly need to look at it anyway.
If cars are fitted with the right technology , and using it correctly is incorporated into driving lessons and the test , there would be no problem.
Of course making teenagers concentrate on one thing is a problem.

[TuftyNuts], Scotland

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 17 September, 2009, 21:16 GMT 22:16 UK

I'm in the 17-24 category so can't help but feel I'm being attacked again for being a young driver.

Has anyone considered that the reason there are more crashes involving people of these ages is probably because there are more people of this ages than the older generation? Stats may speak for themselves but there is always a reason behind stats.

Any driver can be an irresponsible driver. The driver needs to assess the road to make sure it’s safe before they adjusting air-con or radio etc

Anon

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 17 September, 2009, 17:53 GMT 18:53 UK

The minimum age for driving should be raised to 21. Most 17-20 year olds are highly immature...more so now than ever before...interested only in image and having a good time, or in the worst cases, becoming airhead z list "celebrities" on a reality show.
Statistics show that under 21's have the worst road safety record by a long way. Instead of messing about with stupid Health and Safety overzealous measures, just do the obvious...remove the dangerous drivers from the road !

Ken Cunningham, Newcastle, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 17 September, 2009, 16:31 GMT 17:31 UK

Some of you don't think there's anything wrong with texting or staring at an iPod while driving your car.

Have any of you ever ridden a motorbike or a pushbike in traffic?

If you could see yourselves from my point of view on two wheels, you'd brick it. Every day I see cars swerving all over the road because the driver has taken their eyes off it to concentrate on a screen somewhere.

Will you still think you're not dangerous when you hear that sickening crunch as you pile into someone?

John, London

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 17 September, 2009, 14:18 GMT 15:18 UK

I do not allow myself to be distracted when I am doing ANYTHING, never mind driving a car. It's a simple and useful trick: focus on whatever you are doing and you will do it more effectively - and, when possible, quicker - than you do if you permit yourself to be distracted by your surroundings.

Or am I the only person in the world who stands still to take a phone call?

Megan, Cheshire UK

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 17 September, 2009, 14:09 GMT 15:09 UK

"For me, the biggest distraction is speed cameras. While travelling across a speed trap zone, I find myself spending more time looking at the speedo' than I do at the road."
Stephen McCann

Stephen, if this is the case then I strongly recommend you take yourself off of the road. It's easy to maintain a constant speed within the legal limit without having to stare at your speedo. I have no problem keeping in the limit with or without speed cameras.

[Nic121]

Recommended by 2 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 17 September, 2009, 13:48 GMT 14:48 UK

I see too many cases of dangerous driving every day on my commute to work. It is easy to become distracted, but you can limit the chances of having serious accident by:

1) NOT speeding (even if it's just a few miles over the limit)
2) NOT tailgating (even if they driver in front is too slow)
3) NOT talking on your mobile phone whilst driving

From my experience a lot of people are guilty of at least one of the above and it's people of varying ages, not just the young.

[Nic121]

Recommended by 2 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 17 September, 2009, 13:09 GMT 14:09 UK

RIesponsible drivers do not to allow distractions to affect their driving. That, for example, means not answering a ringing mobile while on the move. Trouble is so many drivers are lousy even without distractions.

So let's have much tougher policing, much stiffer sentences and get rid of all those stupid and unnecessary road signs everywhere, especially where you get a speed limit within a few feet of another with a different limit and those asking you to drive carefully through their area.

[NowHearThis], Enfield, United Kingdom

Recommended by 1 person

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 17 September, 2009, 12:32 GMT 13:32 UK

For me, the biggest distraction is speed cameras. While travelling across a speed trap zone, I find myself spending more time looking at the speedo' than I do at the road.

Most accidents I have witnessed are caused simply by incompetent driving. I firmly believe that everyone should sit a compulsory refresher test every ten years as some of the driving I see each day is pretty unbelievable and has nothing to do with people texting or playing around with their sat' nav'.

Stephen McCann, Glasgow, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 17 September, 2009, 11:57 GMT 12:57 UK

When driving I do have music on in the car, but only for long distance journeys. And for that, I use my MP3 player, plugged into the car stereo, set to random shuffle, so that once I've set it playing before heading off, I don't have to touch it again until I stop, unless traffic gets bad and then I press the off button. My parents keep telling me to get a SatNav - but I'd far rather have a list of directions and a map that I can pull over and check - not an annoying fake voice distracting me!

Kathryn Jones, Lancaster, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 17 September, 2009, 11:40 GMT 12:40 UK

I saw someone the other day not on the phone, or changing cd, but drinking coffee, I couldn't believe it, she must have only just left home.

If you have not had time for a drink before leaving for work wait until you get to work which always used to be the case

just a point, Hampshire, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 17 September, 2009, 09:07 GMT 10:07 UK

Haha ok so if u dont live in northern ireland dnt worry bout my attitude cos u will never have to pass me on a motorway watching the road while replyin to a message the odd time. its rare that i wud be drivin while txtin but i admit i do it chill people!! im not dangerous on the roads and am alot better than people who have been drivin long and omg surprise surprise they are male.. ive been through 22 months of pain because of a male drivin while being stupid. MALES NEED TO CHANGE THEIR ATTITUDE

[saxyfire]

Recommended by 1 person

Alert a Moderator

This Have Your Say is 
CLOSED

DEBATE STATUS

Total comments:
47
Published comments:
43
Rejected comments:
4
No further comments will be published as debate is now closed

MOST POPULAR NOW

From Have Your Say
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external websites.