bbc.co.uk Navigation


Have Your Say

Send us your feedback

New visitors:  Create your membership
Returning members:  Sign in
This debate is now closed.

Do sports stars set a good example?

Craig Bellamy has been given a warning by the FA after appearing to shove a fan in the face during last weekend's Manchester derby.

He won't face a more serious 'improper conduct' charge though.

His boss, Mark Hughes, has stuck up for him and said it was self defence, but there have been other questionable behaviour by sports stars over the last few weeks.

Emmanuel Adebayor got a lot of criticism for his extrravagant goal celebration in front of fans from his former club Arsenal.

Then a few weeks ago Serena Williams found herself in the spotlight after an angry outburst towards a line judge during the US Open.

Should top sports stars be behaving better or do they generally set a good example? Should there be stronger fines and suspensions? Do you think we should give them the benefit of the doubt more?

Published: Wednesday, 23 September, 2009, 11:13 GMT 12:13 UK

All comments as they come in

Added: Monday, 28 September, 2009, 02:54 GMT 03:54 UK

Sportsmen have achieved great results because of strong will, hard work and dedication. So those qualities deserve to be priced. But it nothing to do with everyday behavior, that should be regulated by mental, brain activity not muscle.

Igor, International

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Monday, 28 September, 2009, 02:25 GMT 03:25 UK

"Morality" in all its guises is not a sport, nor is it a concert, speech or church service. Come on! We all know what morality is and how it should be applied. All of the above are forms of entertainment and therefore inherently amoral. Morality is rooted in the deep subconcious of the human psyche. How we apply it is determined by upbringing and conditioning.
Role models are never saints and seldom followed. Leave our entertainers alone to be who they want to be.

[Vic-Venture], London, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Sunday, 27 September, 2009, 21:11 GMT 22:11 UK

Some do set a good example, some don’t. In many ways just like everyone in the world.

Jason Hartley-Smith

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Sunday, 27 September, 2009, 13:48 GMT 14:48 UK

Why should someone who kicks a ball around, or runs in circles have to be a role model?

Teachers. clergy and politicians (the ones who delight in telling us how we should live our lives) should be the only role models.

blinkered drone, london

Recommended by 1 person

Alert a Moderator

Added: Sunday, 27 September, 2009, 12:03 GMT 13:03 UK

They're dull, over trained, and pampered, for the most part. The UK's obsession with winning at sport is as tiresome as that of the USA, Australia, or the old Soviet bloc. The insecurity of the people involved is reflected in the country, as is their obsession with getting rich form it. I no longer care two hoots if the UK wins or not.
Someone mentioned George Best and John McEnroe - two sublime talents who's antics off the field was only regretaible when it damaged their performance on.

Steve, London

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Sunday, 27 September, 2009, 08:55 GMT 09:55 UK

When you speak of 'improper conduct' in sport you mostly think of footballers.

I cannot believe he only received a warning, in any other profession it would have been instant dismissal and a prosecution suit would follow, I wonder what would have happened if it had been the other way round.

You rarely hear of any other sport where sportsmen/women shove, swear etc any other competitor or fan.

just a point, Hampshire, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 25 September, 2009, 12:58 GMT 13:58 UK

I think that most do, it's the football establishment that doesnt set a good example.

The tools are available to provide quick visible information & evidence to bad behaviour & bad play yet it is denied use.

The FA is basically a legal monopoly, but the reason why monopolys are banned in most cases is due to their dominating self interest & undermining character.

What players do in their own time is different to what they do in their professional capacity on the pitch.

[MrWonderfulReality]

Recommended by 1 person

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 24 September, 2009, 14:12 GMT 15:12 UK

Do sports stars set a good example? [Most cases yes.]

Should top sports stars be behaving better or do they generally set a good example? [Yes, top sport stars should behave better...]

Should there be stronger fines and suspensions? [Yes]

Do you think we should give them the benefit of the
doubt more? [Maybe...]

~Dennis Junior~

[dennisjunior1]

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 24 September, 2009, 11:47 GMT 12:47 UK

Should top sports stars be behaving better or do they generally set a good example? Should be better behaved but thats just like telling a mother/father to be better behaved for their child no1s perfect

Should there be stronger fines and suspensions? Aye sure y not they earn enough

Do you think we should give them the benefit of the doubt more? Naw no point if its in the news change it to shut the media up

[saxyfire]

Recommended by 1 person

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 24 September, 2009, 09:01 GMT 10:01 UK

Is the behaviour of sports stars any worse that it used to be? I've seen footballers fighting on the pitch and celebrating in front of away fans for years. John McInroe was turned into a celebrity for arguing with a referee and George Best was as famous for his 'playboy' lifestyle as he was his football ability.

The difference of course is that back then, we didn't have wall-to-wall media coverage with 24hr sports channels looking to fill airtime by blowing everything out of proportio

Michael Hewitt, Leeds

Recommended by 1 person

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 23 September, 2009, 18:09 GMT 19:09 UK

No, not all the time, but then again not all of them are that troublesome. If your a sports star you should set a more positive example co's your going to have young kids aspiring to you.

Adam J.Humphreys, Derbyshire

Recommended by 1 person

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 23 September, 2009, 16:10 GMT 17:10 UK

Now let me think about that for a moment....
Spitting, swearing, fighting, diving & general bad sportsmanship whilst on the pitch. Constant back chatting & rudeness to match officals & disregard of authority.
Then theres the ones in the papers due to being involved in pub brawls, infidelity & kiss & tell stories from strippers....

They probably set one of the worse examples out there.
But money never did buy manners or class.

Pat, Bristol

Recommended by 1 person

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 23 September, 2009, 15:20 GMT 16:20 UK

I think that sports stars should behave better. other than that sports stars do set a good example

Catherine Oliver, Crawley, United Kingdom

Recommended by 1 person

Alert a Moderator

This Have Your Say is 
CLOSED

DEBATE STATUS

Total comments:
18
Published comments:
13
Rejected comments:
5
No further comments will be published as debate is now closed

MOST POPULAR NOW

From Have Your Say
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external websites.