Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

BBC News Updated every minute of every day



Have Your Say

Send us your feedback

New visitors:  Create your membership
Returning members:  Sign in
This debate is now closed.

Is the US distancing itself from Britain?

Repeated requests from Britain for a formal meeting with President Barack Obama fell on deaf ears in the US. Is the "special relationship" cooling?

Requests from Downing Street for official talks were turned down with both camps denying it amounts to a snub. Instead the US president had private meetings with leaders from Russia, China and Japan.

Gordon Brown was able to have a wide-ranging discussion with the president. However, it has emerged this was a conversation in a kitchen after a meal at the United Nations.

Has the special relationship changed following the release of the Lockerbie bomber Abdelbaset Ali al-Megrahi? Should Obama be focusing on developing relations with other leaders? Do you think this is just a storm in a teacup?

Read the full story

Send us your story ideas

Published: Thursday, 24 September, 2009, 10:21 GMT 11:21 UK

All comments as they come in

Added: Saturday, 26 September, 2009, 12:14 GMT 13:14 UK

'Is the US distancing itself from Britain?'

No, I think the US is distancing itself from Brown. Brown released Megrahi, not Britain.

Paul

Recommended by 3 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Saturday, 26 September, 2009, 12:07 GMT 13:07 UK

Have you guys heard of spell check? And you Brits living here and not liking it can go home.

John, USA


Yes, we have heard of spell check. Unlike some people. By the way, the term is British not Brits!!!

Angela Marshall, London, United Kingdom

Recommended by 5 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Saturday, 26 September, 2009, 11:33 GMT 12:33 UK

Yes, it's called Continental Drift.

jimley murmer, edinburgh, United Kingdom

Recommended by 1 person

Alert a Moderator

Added: Saturday, 26 September, 2009, 11:21 GMT 12:21 UK

The 'special relationship' is a myth. The funding of the IRA by the US continued, despite repeated requests by our Government to stop this.

John de St Croix

Recommended by 9 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Saturday, 26 September, 2009, 10:59 GMT 11:59 UK

"..An american friend in a chatroom asked me how the british people feel about America these days. I told him we were quite indifferent to the USA now and want our government to ensure we do not ally the USA in any more of their wars."
Bill Derbyshire, London
Very kind of you, Bill, to speak on behalf of the British people. I hope your American friend is sensible enough to seek wider opinions before concluding that we are all indifferent to our best ally and biggest export market.

[archoptimist], United Kingdom

Recommended by 6 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Saturday, 26 September, 2009, 10:50 GMT 11:50 UK

You Brits are clueless. The degrading of our relationship has nothing to do with Gordon Brown. It has to do how you, the average Brit, feel about us. Just read what's printed here in "Have Your Say" each week.
We get your message of how you hate us loud and clear. Just don't act surprised as the feeling becomes reciprocal.
Common Sense, Wisconsin, US

Most Brits dont hate you - only loony left hand wringing pro Muslims do - are you bothered about them?

[RulaBritannia], Bradford, United Kingdom

Recommended by 7 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Saturday, 26 September, 2009, 10:46 GMT 11:46 UK

I think the "special relationship" is probably down to politics but I genuinely feel there is a warmth between our peoples.I am sorry that there is alot of negative remarks about Americans on here, I can assure you that most people in this country hold you all in high esteem.I think it's a shame that people have to be so cutting & personal.It's the same with all the pathetic remarks about G Brown, give the poor man a break, he's a human being ,disagree with his policy's but don't destroy him.

Tracy Ann, Cumbria, United Kingdom

Recommended by 6 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Saturday, 26 September, 2009, 10:42 GMT 11:42 UK

To suggest that Brown or Obama are friends is absurd.They have a professional relationship in which sometimes they agree and disagree.The special relationship is also a myth.America wouldnt think twice about sacrificing the UK if it made good economic sense nor would we bar the fact we would most likely send the US foreign aid whereas the US wouldn't.
We probably have more affinity with India than America.The Americans speak English but are nothing like the English in their outlook or behaviour

Winston Smith, Ipswich, United Kingdom

Recommended by 3 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Saturday, 26 September, 2009, 10:40 GMT 11:40 UK

I think things have cooled off to a degree. However I think this is more down to the personalities of Gordon Brown and Barack Obama.

Blair and Bush at least appeared to get on very well. This gave the perception of a close relationship with America.

Gordon Brown has more of a clumsy attitude. In that when Bush was president he tired to distance himself from America. Now Obama is in and Brown has lost face in Britain he is trying to be all pally with Obama to boost his image.

Colin NA

Recommended by 1 person

Alert a Moderator

Added: Saturday, 26 September, 2009, 10:34 GMT 11:34 UK

Like the BBC & many people here, I proudly support Mr Brown & our Labour Government. I feel bitterly disappointed that Mr Obama has shunned Mr Brown, so I feel it is time for all of us this side of the pond, to get behind Mr Brown & the Government to ensure a big Labour majority at the next election.

Pro Labour & Proud, Lambath, London, UK

Recommended by 2 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Saturday, 26 September, 2009, 10:27 GMT 11:27 UK

Is the US distancing itself from us?
Maybe president Obama has got more important concerns than worrying about the 'special relationship', such as improving relations with Russia.
Furthermore the close partnership between the USA and the UK has been disastrous in recent years, embroiling the West in a war without end.

Kathryn Rimmington, portsmouth

Recommended by 2 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Saturday, 26 September, 2009, 10:20 GMT 11:20 UK

Barack Obama should be dealing with David Cameron, the next British Prime Minister. It makes no sense talking to Bunker Brown because he is a nobody with no future.

Bob Todd

Recommended by 1 person

Alert a Moderator

Added: Saturday, 26 September, 2009, 10:16 GMT 11:16 UK

The PM, who is in Pittsburgh for the final day of the G20 summit, told Sky News voters had "suspended judgement" Unbelieving, the man is completely deluded, just as Hitler was in the final months of WW2. So, Bunker Brown needs a reality check & I am happy to oblige - The voters made judgement on you & your hopeless party some years ago. Our minds are made up & have been for same time, you & your Government are finished & thankfully we may never ever see another Labour Government after yours. bye

Bob Todd

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Saturday, 26 September, 2009, 10:16 GMT 11:16 UK

Brown just looks so very sad now. He has broken and humiliated our country, but how much personal humiliation can a man take?
Good luck to America and all Americans, even the ones who criticise British spelling mistakes on this site only to display their own appalling grammar.

Dorloukie Fienusess, Orly

Recommended by 1 person

Alert a Moderator

Added: Saturday, 26 September, 2009, 09:58 GMT 10:58 UK

To Kerry Berger,

"I'm disappointed at the lack of human respect the UK/Scottish Government demonstrated prioritizing oil interests."

Pot, this is kettle calling; colour check, over!

Gareth "Taffy" Evans, Banff, SCOTLAND

Recommended by 4 people

Alert a Moderator

This Have Your Say is 
CLOSED

DEBATE STATUS

Total comments:
1969
Published comments:
1762
Rejected comments:
175
No further comments will be published as debate is now closed

MOST POPULAR NOW

From Have Your Say

PRODUCTS AND SERVICES

bbc sport Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific