Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

BBC News Updated every minute of every day



Have Your Say

Send us your feedback

New visitors:  Create your membership
Returning members:  Sign in
This debate is now closed.

Should workers be forced to retire?

The High Court has ruled that it is legal for UK employers to force workers to retire at the age of 65. Do you agree with the ruling?

Age Concern and Help the Aged, who brought the case to court, argued that the compulsory retirement age goes against EU regulations on age discrimination.

Under UK law, an employer can end a workers employment at the age of 65 without redundancy payments, even if they do not want to retire.

Is the law discriminative? Should workers be compensated if they are forced to retire? Have you been forced to retire? Will this make more jobs available for the young and unemployed? Are you a young person who welcomes this news?

Read the full story

Send us your story ideas

Published: Friday, 25 September, 2009, 10:49 GMT 11:49 UK

All comments as they come in

Added: Sunday, 27 September, 2009, 06:05 GMT 07:05 UK

why are employees forced to retire at 65 now when the age will compulsary be raised to 68 between 2024 and 2046. Many cannot afford to live on a pension now. Why can a none working young couple with 2 kids receive more money than a retired pension couple who have contributed for 50 years or indeed tennage girls who have kids and have never worked

colin smith, nottingham, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Sunday, 27 September, 2009, 05:57 GMT 06:57 UK

Hot potatoes this one.
With the ever increasing AGEIST attitude of employers, those being made redundant before 65 are finding it ever increasingly hard to find jobs.
However:
With Jobs decreasing - Population Growing - It necessarily follows that Unemployment will grow.
.
My own view, unless it is your own business, you should retire at 65.
This will open jobs for the next generation.
.
But.
Do not forget, these people will need state pensiojn for longer.
.
ANSWER....Don't Know

[mickthewhite]

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Sunday, 27 September, 2009, 05:46 GMT 06:46 UK

I like pleasant, attentive service. In my experience I get this much more often from older staff. I don't know if this is because younger workers haven't developed their social skills yet, or if they would just rather be somewhere else/ have too much ambition to focus on the present. Whatever the reason, I would like older people to be able to work as long as they like because they do a good job.

Equally, employment law is awful if when sacking the incompetent whether they are old or young.

Andy C

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Sunday, 27 September, 2009, 03:29 GMT 04:29 UK

A persons age, race, gender, religion, etc - etc, does not matter as long as an employee can do the job. Obviously people will change as they age, usually for the worse - physically, however with increasing levels of healthcare and medicine it is not infeasable that people of any age can continue to work if they so desire. To force people to retire because of age alone (not competency) is morally repugnant, economically redundant, and irrefutably foolish.

Peter O'Neil, Wivenhoe, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Sunday, 27 September, 2009, 03:21 GMT 04:21 UK

Retire at 65? Retire on what? I will have to continue working because my limited savings will pay almost no interest. I would have to eat into those savings and hope that I don't live too long.

I have pension(s) but Gordan Brown's tax raids on pensions and the City failures means they will produce almost nothing.

Simon Davies, London

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Saturday, 26 September, 2009, 22:34 GMT 23:34 UK

Totally irrespective of age, right now, here in the UK, all employers monitor their staff - one way or another - to see if they are - and can - do their job. If they can't, for any reason, the usual Procedure follows, which may then result in dismissal. Age, within itself, should have nothing to do with it: only ability & attitude are relevant.

[NewsMonitor]

Recommended by 1 person

Alert a Moderator

Added: Saturday, 26 September, 2009, 22:23 GMT 23:23 UK

Right pensioners,next time you vote, make sure you don't vote for any MP over 65.

Brendon, UK

Hmm. Since we will all get to 65 anyway, that comment might be more aptly phrased "irrespective of your age, at the next election, don't vote for any MP".

Then, just for once, they might get the message.

Imagine the consequences if EVERYONE did this: a bloodless revolution!

[NewsMonitor]

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Saturday, 26 September, 2009, 22:23 GMT 23:23 UK

I thought the retirement age was, or is going to be, increased to 70 because of the shortfall in people's pensions.

William Johnson-Smith, London

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Saturday, 26 September, 2009, 21:51 GMT 22:51 UK

I took early retirement/voluntary redundancy when I was 52 - I got an immediate pension - not a lot. But as we had decided to downsize, my wife's salary £15.7K and my pension was enough for us to manage.I live in Berkshire, so no cheap northener prices.

We can all do this - just a case of not giving a damn what your neighbours think.

ian christie, bracknell, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Saturday, 26 September, 2009, 21:46 GMT 22:46 UK

Can't Age Concern and Help the Aged see that they are being used as pawns in a political game?

This challenge to the retirement age gives the government (current and future) the excuse to raise the retirement age for everyone, while passing the negative spin onto Age Concern and Help the Aged!

I don't have a problem with people working longer if they want to, but it seems likely that this legal challenge will be turned around and used to force everyone to do so. Thanks a bunch!

Les, North East

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Saturday, 26 September, 2009, 21:36 GMT 22:36 UK

Unless you are in the super privileged minority you can forget retiring. Even those who work in the public sector with the promise of a superannuated pension better think again the political pressure will become so huge to axe such costly schemes that if you are not retiring in the next few years you are probably looking at a drastic scaling down of projected premiums. I think even now half our council tax is spent on the pension burden of the retired staff. Tax payers will eventually revolt.

User Fivesixzerofouronezero, Panopticon, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Saturday, 26 September, 2009, 21:35 GMT 22:35 UK

Be forced to retire because you reach a certain age? what an absurd question Of course not!
It should be based on the individual and not just another general 'put them all in the same box' mentality. Lets have some lateral thinking for a change, try something different.
Ability to the the job, add value to the company and not being a risk to yourself or others would be the sensible criteria. Ageism is against the law and the law should be enforced, everyone gets older - LISTEN

TC, BOLTON

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Saturday, 26 September, 2009, 21:25 GMT 22:25 UK

If the person feels they can carry on working, and the employer also, then you should be able to work up to any age.

If the employer wants them to retire at 65 they are making them redundant before they feel ready so there fore should pay redundancy.

Mrs Jones

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Saturday, 26 September, 2009, 21:21 GMT 22:21 UK

Workers should definitely be protected against dismissal on their 65th Birthday. Obviously this depends on their ability to still do a good job, but as long as they remain good workers they should have the same rights as younger employees.

A lot of people can only just afford to make ends meet and cannot afford expensive private pensions so why should they be made to suffer when they are still quite capable at 65.

Adrian Boliston, Taunton, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Saturday, 26 September, 2009, 21:17 GMT 22:17 UK

Just how long do 65's want to continue even though they have pension income which is almost twice twice that of young people trying to enter the work place....Selfishness!! Thats what it is plus boredom!! Work to you drop is the cry of the selfish older people who have had a good innings...Look at the massive number of young people who are seeks jobs?? They deserve yours!! you have had your day dudes!!

Tom Donn, Co.Antrim, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

This Have Your Say is 
CLOSED

DEBATE STATUS

Total comments:
907
Published comments:
878
Rejected comments:
29
No further comments will be published as debate is now closed

MOST POPULAR NOW

From Have Your Say

PRODUCTS AND SERVICES

bbc sport Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific