Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

BBC News Updated every minute of every day



Have Your Say

Send us your feedback

New visitors:  Create your membership
Returning members:  Sign in
This debate is now closed.

Have Your Say: Does eating sweets daily as a child lead to becoming a violent adult?

Children who eat sweets and chocolate every day are more likely to be violent when they grow up, according to new research from Cardiff University.

Researchers found that 10-year-olds who ate sweets daily were significantly more likely to have a conviction for violence by the time they were 34.

They say one explanation is that giving children sweets and chocolate regularly may stop them learning how to wait to obtain something they want.

What do you think about the research? Do you agree with the study's connection between eating sweets regularly as a child and violence in later life? Send us your views.

Published: Wednesday, 30 September, 2009, 18:58 GMT 19:58 UK

All comments as they come in

Added: Thursday, 1 October, 2009, 16:25 GMT 17:25 UK

Candy can hold a lot of hidden allergies. So there may be some truth to the add the poison little by little and a person won't notice how ill they are until it's too late.

kaz, NB Saskatchewan

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 1 October, 2009, 16:06 GMT 17:06 UK

The standard deviation of the statistics is not published in this article and no explicit mention of correlation versus causation. This is weak research and the usual rubbish scientific journalism;will surely be repeated as fact at the supermarket and at the school gates and little Johnny and Jane will be denied one of the joys of childhood, sweeties that is, because some BBC hack through together this nonsense to make copy.

Jez, LA

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 1 October, 2009, 15:41 GMT 16:41 UK

I was well fed my helpings of sweets when i was a child, from penny sweets every day and snacks at school. In todays world im not voilent or out of control. Im the oppisite and try to defuse heated situations if they occur. Never have I read such rubbish.

helen ashcroft, vegas [ross-on-wye]

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 1 October, 2009, 14:55 GMT 15:55 UK

Maybe, probably not as dangerous as six cans of Stella though

Greg, UK

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 1 October, 2009, 14:50 GMT 15:50 UK

I cant help but focus on the fact this story is based on a University study, the results have then been interpreted by the person who wrote it! All of the comments are focusing on the study itself yet it's the story which adds the spin! The study i imagine is fairly interesting to "Joe Public" and anything (however factual or truthful) which helps cut down the amount of junk children are given or allowed to consume is all good by me!

Steve, Cardiff

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 1 October, 2009, 14:49 GMT 15:49 UK

As a self confessed sweet addict I somehow think the sweets are not fundamentally a cause for violence. Even the notion of a 'sugar rush' has been cast into doubt. Do these 'researchers' want Bertie Bassett lynched ?!

perhaps replacing the docile milkybar kid with a thug would connote the sinisted contents of the average child's treat, maybe even the free knife with every multipack.

panda101, Kent

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 1 October, 2009, 14:47 GMT 15:47 UK

I bet they drank milk too. There is something wrong with this study.I do not think that my children will become violent because they eat chocolate every day.

brenda beiser, philadelphia

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 1 October, 2009, 14:46 GMT 15:46 UK

Alternative Medecine has long known that certain e-numbers added to food will have adverse effects on peoples' health--mental included. Considering some of the most dangerous are merely added to give them a "pretty colour", you might think the UK government would step in with regulations.

They have been fully aware of the dangers for decades but have not made the food children eat any safer. The same can be said for cans of British lager and even medecines!

We are after all what we eat.

Common sense, Aberdeen

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 1 October, 2009, 14:43 GMT 15:43 UK

another waste of our tax money going to needless university studies. science is not exact they work around possibilities. the use of the words "more likely" is not actual proof, but just and indication, that they have wasted tax payers money yet again.

macca, reading

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 1 October, 2009, 14:40 GMT 15:40 UK

Not a single research project treats the human brain as the molecular engineering masterpiece it is. It developed in the most complex ecosystem evolution has produced and was effectively immersed in the most complex chemical cocktail ever brought together in a lineage of related species. The fomenting cauldron of transcription altering flavonoids (fruit pigments) re-designed re-engineered and re-organised a basic neural system into the most complex thing we know.

Tony Wright, Penzance

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 1 October, 2009, 14:29 GMT 15:29 UK

I can see where they're trying to come from - I wonder if the same study has been carried out with sausage rolls?
Every child in a pushchair seems to sport them as lunch these days!
I was allowed to help myself to sweets as a child, no limits and not given as a treat.
I may be 40 an clinically obese - but I've never been in trouble with the police!

fatty

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 1 October, 2009, 14:07 GMT 15:07 UK

If there is any substance to this hypothesis, which I doubt, wouldn't it mean that the majority of violent people are obese and that slim people are quite peaceful? But what does an analysis of the population reveal? Is there a higher proportion of violent people in a sample of tubbies, and a far smaller proportion of violent people in a sample of beanpoles, and a roughly 'normal' proportion of violent people in a sample of 'normal' weight people?

David, Cheshire

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 1 October, 2009, 14:05 GMT 15:05 UK

This is a classic example of- research for the sake of research. It does not prove conclusively what it claims. If one were to go by the well documented ancient "Ayurveda system of treatment, all foods have been categorized and when consumed it leads to a particular behavioral, mental and physical changes in humans. Naturally, you won't find in the "Ayurveda" books, listings for western junk foods like chocolate, hamburgers and hot dogs, the reason being either they did not exist in ancient time

Pankaj Kumar, Muzaffarpur

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 1 October, 2009, 13:29 GMT 14:29 UK

Sweets themselves do not have an effect on making a child violent, but E-numbers do and sometimes its quite catastrophic for them and there families.
Sweet manufacturers are changing but mums and dads and friends do not recognise the fact that adding chemicals to sweets and other food stuffs does have a bad effect on the behaviour of children.
Its time that all manufacturers of sweets drinks and other foodstufs started taking responsability for poisoning our foods.

Yachydda, Wrexham

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 1 October, 2009, 12:42 GMT 13:42 UK

Of course there is a link between parenting and 10 year olds eating sweets every day unless they are getting them from Grandma or stealing change out of your purse.

So lets waste some more money on the next research project, lets see if children allowed to drink alcohol at 13 have a better chance at liver disease then those that don't. After that lets investigate sexual activity and teenage pregnancies. My guess is they all come down to the same issue, parenting and social structures.

BM, Newport

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

This Have Your Say is 
CLOSED

DEBATE STATUS

Total comments:
52
Published comments:
49
Rejected comments:
3
No further comments will be published as debate is now closed

MOST POPULAR NOW

From Have Your Say

PRODUCTS AND SERVICES

bbc sport Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific