Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

BBC News Updated every minute of every day



Have Your Say

Send us your feedback

New visitors:  Create your membership
Returning members:  Sign in
This debate is now closed.

Will the Tory gamble succeed?

Shadow chancellor George Osborne has unveiled a series of tough proposals to tackle Britain's budget deficit in a speech to the Tory annual conference. Do you agree with these policies?

Mr Osborne said a public sector pay freeze and a rise in the state pension age are among the measures needed to sort out the UK's finances.

The middle classes face big cuts in benefits under his plans, with no tax credits for families earning more than £50,000 a year and a new child trust fund limited to the poorest third in society.

What do you think of George Osborne's proposals? Has Mr Cameron got what it takes to become PM? What do you want to hear discussed at the conference?

Read the full story

Watch the action from Manchester LIVE

Read your stories

Published: Monday, 5 October, 2009, 06:59 GMT 07:59 UK

All comments as they come in

Added: Thursday, 8 October, 2009, 02:08 GMT 03:08 UK

the tories will hammer ordinary working people who are already struggling to stay above water. the tories will, as they have always done, look after the top 10% in our society who can afford to pay their fair share of taxes, but due to various tax dodges never have done.. the gap between the wealthy elite and ordinary working people is no longer tenable !!!.....time for a complete overhaul of our electoral system..

danny powell, london

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 8 October, 2009, 01:58 GMT 02:58 UK

Look, regardless of whose fault it is, everyone just think for 1 Second. The financial crisis happened, bankers were as much a friend of GB as they were DC, we all know that. With less private sector tax receipts, we cant afford the public sector, tax avoidance = drop in the ocean, all of the bankers combined wealth is nothing in the face of the defecit. Public sector workers are lowly paid because there are too many. Get rid of the quangos, pen pushers, any diveristy job, not the frontline!!

David, Growupeveryone

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 8 October, 2009, 01:49 GMT 02:49 UK

All the people saying they were going to vote tory but are not now due to their policies.Should stop and think who as made this country that deep in debt that these policies have to be brought in. Yes Labour. If they get in again will just been more debt and higher taxes. You will probably end up paying twice as much in tax rises than you would if you worked an extra year.

sean reynolds

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 8 October, 2009, 01:44 GMT 02:44 UK

Many people on here moan about conservatives and labour . Is'nt it time you voted with your brains and vote for a change after all the years of misery the conservatives and labour have brought upon us . We always vote for the same bunch of corrupt individuals always follow the other sheep !! " It is better to spend one day as a lion than a thousand years as a sheep " Dont vote the same because " thats what i've always done ".Get a life get some spirit and do something about it . I'm voting UKIP

jason, liverpool

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 8 October, 2009, 01:24 GMT 02:24 UK

No it will not work because no matter what banner you come under be it labour , conservative , liberal non of these parties really give a hoot about what joe public really wants . They are oblivious to normal peoples needs but not their own as we have witnessed in recent times , so whats going to change ? Absolutely nothing !. Same bunch of currupted people with just a different coloured shirt .Margret thatcher , tony blair , and now brown common denominator ? WAR and lives lost for their ideals

jason, liverpool

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 8 October, 2009, 01:01 GMT 02:01 UK

It doesn't matter which party come into power next. This country is shafted. It certainly isn't going to get better any time soon.
We will all just happily sit back quietly whilst the government continues to steal from us legally on a daily basis.
It has nothing to do with immigration, assyum seekers, middle, lower or upper classes etc.
Our so called government are greedy slobs who are not satisfied with eating from their own table, they have to break into our houses and eat from ours too!

[Thundergirth]

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 8 October, 2009, 24:35 GMT 01:35 UK

the Tory proposal will succeed because most right-minded people know that significant cutbacks are required.
Chris Beaven

Sound advice from David Cameron the High and Mighty, Upper class, True Blue Blooded English Aristocracy. I tip my hat to you Guv' God Bless ya for keeping me were i belong. Its only what we working class deserve.

Christopher Quinn

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Thursday, 8 October, 2009, 24:29 GMT 01:29 UK

They are also willing to live seven to a house in disrepair to lower Council Tax bills. They are also willing to accept zero-hour contracts with no job security.That's how.
Ryan, Scunthorpe

I did that myself a few years ago when I returned from living abroad. It did not last for long. It is called self responsibility

Adrian Swall, Sheffield

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 7 October, 2009, 23:50 GMT 00:50 UK

The Conservatives say their plan to help the rich inherit more money will 'encourage people to save'.

I am not sure how an average person will be encouraged to work and save under a government that believes they need to fight to improve the, already financially comfortable, position of those people born into a rich family, so that they can inherit more money.

If someone was to inherit £300000-£1 million, could they not afford/want to pay a little tax to help those who do not?

[from_highwycombe]

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 7 October, 2009, 23:45 GMT 00:45 UK

I think the tories should have been more radical in what they said.
maybe the closing speech could suggest the following.

Don't vote for labour because they are marxists and have wilfully destroyed Britain,and don't care.

Don't vote for the liberals because they are not much better than labour,and don't care.

Don't vote tory because we don't care either.
Infact vote for any of the smaller parties and remind us that the expenses scandal and lack of ref on lisbon hasn't been forgotten

stu nobody, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 7 October, 2009, 23:34 GMT 00:34 UK

I have a nightmare!
It's any of the current crop being given power.
We need radical change. Vote directly for the Prime Minister; PR; regular referenda an major issues; decentralizing power.

[stool-pigeon]

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 7 October, 2009, 23:32 GMT 00:32 UK

Gordon Brown reduced our VAT and gave me £2,000 off a new car.

David Cameron wants to freeze my pay and increase my retirement age.

Ooh, this is a toughie.

Cosmo Entley

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 7 October, 2009, 23:30 GMT 00:30 UK

Why are so many people economically illiterate? Labour Governments always cause an economic disaster, and then blame their failure on others. In this case the Government failed in the regulation of the banks and this caused the banking crisis.

Brown is responsible for the high levels of Government debt and the action needed to balance the books are the direct result of his incompetence. The people to blame for necessary austerity measures are all the people who voted Labour.

Alistair Wood, London

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 7 October, 2009, 23:26 GMT 00:26 UK

It's a great idea, except where will the jobs come from?
Unless we turn back to labour intensive farming, which would at least be useful in feeding the population, there will not be enough jobs to make this realistic.

Jo Maitland, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Wednesday, 7 October, 2009, 23:26 GMT 00:26 UK

Are “we all in this together” as stated by George Osborne,
Osborne, millionaire, never wanted in his life,
kid’s, private education and their place in university all ready booked, “no matter what”
Cameron, millionaire, never wanted in his life, and never will do, Cameron’s wife stated, she is a working mum and can’t afford stylish clothes.
Pull the other one; they get more on their doggy expenses then most hard working families get in two years.

peter parker, basingstoke, United Kingdom

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

This Have Your Say is 
CLOSED

DEBATE STATUS

Total comments:
4964
Published comments:
4643
Rejected comments:
321
No further comments will be published as debate is now closed

MOST POPULAR NOW

From Have Your Say

PRODUCTS AND SERVICES

bbc sport Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific