BBC Home
Explore the BBC

BBC News Updated every minute of every day



Have Your Say

Send us your feedback

New visitors:  Create your membership
Returning members:  Sign in
This debate is now closed.

Is Obama right about healthcare?

Tens of thousands of people in Washington have protested against Barack Obama's healthcare reforms. Do you agree with his health plan?

The demonstrations came as the US president sought to boost support for his plans at a rally in Minneapolis.

President Obama wants to be the last president forced to take up the cause of health reform but opponents say that his administration's spending is out-of-control and will lead to economic ruin.

What do you think of Obama's health plan? Did his speech to Congress impress you? Or do you fear a government-run health insurance option will bring financial wrack to the US?

Read the main story here

Published: Wednesday, 9 September, 2009, 21:08 GMT 22:08 UK

All comments in recommendation order

Added: Friday, 11 September, 2009, 02:58 GMT 03:58 UK

With the American military and veterans receiving the best "socialized" medicine to be found in America today, and most American civilians either completely uninsured or paying through the nose to protect themselves from the cost of unforeseen ,crippling illness, we have the perfect setting for fomenting revolution and civil war on a scale not seen since the Russian revolution.

It is laughable to think, as so many in this country do think, "it could never happen here".

Athelstan, New York City

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 11 September, 2009, 02:58 GMT 03:58 UK

He lies

jan, emery

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 11 September, 2009, 02:54 GMT 03:54 UK

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO, IS NOT RIGHT, ABOUT HEALTHCARE

Guadalupe, texas

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 11 September, 2009, 02:26 GMT 03:26 UK

Ya, Obama is right.

Hans Scmidt, Berlin

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 11 September, 2009, 02:53 GMT 03:53 UK

In the beginning God said, that from the sweat of your forehead you will feed yourself. We already have people sitting back, doing nothing for themselves or much less for the country being that they reap from the working man and woman. In this world we will always have the poor, and the unwilling man among us , but should we really serve them in a silver plate and think that things will be better. I say work, learn study and become a provider for yourself and the country.

A.T.C., TAMPA

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 11 September, 2009, 02:44 GMT 03:44 UK

Show me the money!!!! We are broke. This is all about control and ego. A true Greek tragedy in the making.

Michael O'Quin, Enid, OK

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 11 September, 2009, 02:38 GMT 03:38 UK

Show me the money!!!! We are broke. This is all about control and ego. A true Greek tragedy in the making.

Michael O'Quin, Enid, OK

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 11 September, 2009, 02:36 GMT 03:36 UK

After being stationed in Germany decades ago, I recall a conversation with a fellow soldier (NCO, I think it was) about the "socialized" medicine available to every single German (and by extension, all Europeans). The reply was that yes that was nice, but such an expensive system in the US would drag everyone down to a lower economic level, i.e. we could not afford such a luxury for the masses. So what is new?

P.Hotlen, USA

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 11 September, 2009, 02:34 GMT 03:34 UK

No, I did not watch, because I don't believe anything about the HR bill 3200 and what he wants to ram down the throats of the American people because he and the democrats think they can disregard what the vast majority of Americans DON'T Want. And I have read the entire bill 1000+ pages. I have to tell you, this bill is masked with all sorts of intrusions, TAX's and NO RESPONSIBILITY to the American people. There are no provisions for verifying legal or illegal status. The American People are ??

Clois Beckwith, Austin

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 11 September, 2009, 02:08 GMT 03:08 UK

Anne Murray, Chester: "But why is it then alright for an insurance company to decide whether you should get treatment?
******************
With private insurers, one can always get the procedure even if the insurer won't cover it. It will cost a great deal but other than that the procedure is fully available.

If the government regulates what gets done (versus covered), if it's not covered it might not be available. One might not get it even if willing to pay.

This is what people fear.

Andrea E, New York, United States

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 11 September, 2009, 02:12 GMT 03:12 UK

The thing that many people do not understand is that the idea of Universal Health Care is a communist ideal. Many such things, like Social Security, and various "social rights" began with Marx. I find it ironic that a country that hated communists for so long (and still does, it seems) would demand so much from its government. If we want to maintain our capitalist society, people should learn to take care of themselves and not force others (via taxes) to pay for their mistakes or mishaps.

Vincent Gontaro, St. Louis, MO

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 11 September, 2009, 02:08 GMT 03:08 UK

Unless you are already sick or have a pre-existing condition, health insurance is inexpensive. Millions of Americas are uninsured because they choose not to buy insurance to save money, or because they leave it up to their employers.

America needs tort reform to place a cap on damages, but it shouldn't sacrifice it's health care system, THE BEST IN THE WORLD, simply because many citizens cannot afford it.

Yonah, Canada

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 11 September, 2009, 01:36 GMT 02:36 UK

The health care system does need help as it's become very expensive and selective. So kudos for the reform of the medical malpractice laws, I think the main cause of rising costs. And the problem of pre-existing conditions being refused insurance does need addressing. But just to forbid caps and pre-existing conditions, coupled with taxing the drug and insurance companies to pay for it all will sky-rocket the costs not lower them. The government should create a favourable environment, not run it

David, Michigan, US

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 11 September, 2009, 01:34 GMT 02:34 UK

The time for the future is now. Call up your Senators and your Congressmen, and threaten them with their jobs should they allow this opportunity to pass us by! It is high time we put our wealth to a use beyond covering the globe in our military forces and building a fence in Texas with which to keep out the starving.

Noone Nowhere

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

Added: Friday, 11 September, 2009, 01:31 GMT 02:31 UK

did the goverment ever run anything well ????????

billsabo, portland

Recommended by 0 people

Alert a Moderator

This Have Your Say is 
CLOSED

DEBATE STATUS

Total comments:
4133
Published comments:
3385
Rejected comments:
375
No further comments will be published as debate is now closed

MOST POPULAR NOW

From Have Your Say

PRODUCTS AND SERVICES

bbc sport Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific
banner watch listen bbc sport Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific